Week 72- 6 weeks and a new adventure!

So I guess I should start with transfer news…. Or maybe I’ll save that for the end 🙂 I’m not that mean. So transfer news…. If you couldn’t tell by the subject line I am being transferred. My last 6 weeks will be spent in one last area. I will have a total of 4 areas and 7 companions. Crazy! But it gets even crazier. I thought that because I was leaving that Sister Wilson was definitely training. Nope. I got a call yesterday from President Johnson asking me to serve as a Sister Training Leader again for my last transfer. What? That is what I was thinking too. I am super excited though! I am sad to leave Carlisle but honestly I feel like I have done all that I needed to do here. It is time for me to go. Now I have 6 weeks to figure out what the Lord wants me to do in my next area.

This last week in Carlisle was amazing! The Lord has definitely been blessing us from this 40 day fast that our ward is doing. We received referrals, we found new investigators, and we set someone with a baptismal date! Oh and on top of that we did a ton of service this week.

We picked up a former investigator named Amanda this week. She is awesome. Her husband Lewis actually sat in on the lesson this time. She has definitely been prepared by the Lord to find the gospel. The way she was raised and the standards she holds are exactly what we believe in too. She expressed to us that she wants to understands more about the Book of Mormon. We told her we could do that 🙂 I have a feeling that some good things will be happening there.

I love when we get to do service. This week we got permission from President Johnson to go with a member to Harrisburg and do service at a free dental clinic. We did the set up on Thursday and the tear down of Saturday. We set up tables, dental chairs, and equipment, and everything. It was a lot of work, but we had a ton of missionaries from the Harrisburg Zone come and help too. The people in charge were super grateful that we came to help. This clinic serviced over a couple thousand people. It was incredible. We walked into the convention center on Saturday and it smelled like a dentist office.

Our investigator set with a baptismal date is Theresa. I love her to death! When we started the lesson we went over the reading we left her. She said that baptism stuck out to her while she was reading. I asked her why she thought that was and she said that she really wants to get to the point where she is ready to be baptized. She was ready to be baptized 8 years ago when she was meeting with the missionaries but then she moved and lost contact. I told her that she can get to that point again with the helps of our Savior and us. I then committed her to be baptized and she said yes! We set her for August 29th. Theresa is so faithful and has a desire to do what is right.

We saw Paulo and Victoria this week. We had a really powerful lesson with him. He expressed to us his reasons for not committing to baptism. He isn’t ready and he isn’t willing to fully commit to the baptismal covenant. It makes me so sad when people can’t see how easy it really is to live the gospel. I shared with Paulo the story of Moses raising the brazen serpent I the wilderness. All the people had to do what loom and be healed, but so many of them would not. In the Book of Mormon, the prophet Nephi expounds upon this story in Helman 8:

14 Yea, did he [meaning Moses] not bear record that the Son of God should come? And as he lifted up the brazen serpent in the wilderness, even so shall he [meaning Christ] be lifted up who should come.
15 And as many as should look upon that serpent should live, even so as many as should look upon the Son of God with faith, having a contrite spirit, might live, even unto that life which is eternal.

The brazen serpent represented Christ. All we need to do is look to Christ. I told Paulo that if he is looking to Christ he will find that all the things we have shared with him are true and more in particular he will come to know that the Book of Mormon is true. It is so simple, but yet so hard for some people to look to Christ in all things.

Alma 33: 19-23 also helps to expound upon this, but I’ll get off my soap-box and you can look it up if you want. I had a really fun personal study that morning as I explored this topic of looking to Christ. It has been so awesome having an iPad. It has really expanded my studies and I have been learning a lot more. We have a lot more resources to study from with the gospel library. I love it!

I am excited for this new adventure and I am looking forward to finding out where I am going.

I hope yinz have the best week ever! Love yinz guys 🙂

-Sister Jones

Theresa!! She is always so colorful :)

Theresa!! She is always so colorful 🙂

Sister Clark and Sister Monahan. Two of my favorites.

Sister Clark and Sister Monahan. Two of my favorites.

The Bready Bunch!! Really though. The Bready Family!

The Bready Bunch!! Really though. The Bready Family!

Leave a Reply

