Week 71- #DisciplesintheDigitalAge

Hello! Happy Memorial Day everyone! Today has been really fun. We just
got back from a ward picnic! We had three of our investigators there.
Yay! Christine, Chris, their 4 kids, and their friend Daniel came
today. We had members pick them up this morning and we were there just
to introduce. Them and the kids had a great time. The ward did an
awesome job at making them feel welcomed! Paulo, Victoria, and
Victoria’s sister Maria came too. They had a great time as well. There
was good food and we played softball. I was in heaven of course. I
haven’t played my whole mission so I was so excited when the ward said
that they were going to be playing today.

This past week flew by! I can’t believe it. We are in the last week of
this transfer. Training will be done after this week. I don’t feel
like Sister Wilson has been here for this long. This has probably been
the fasting training yet! It has been a lot of fun and a lot of hard
work . Our has been really picking up lately. We have been finding
people and having success.

So our zone is still doing that competition that I told you about a
couple of weeks ago called the last companionship standing. We have to
have at least one lesson a day to stay in it. Out of 10 companionships
there are only 3 left. We are one of them. We were almost out of it on
Monday. We tried our hardest to get a lesson that night and we almost
didn’t. We had lesson scheduled but then they cancelled. We tried our
backups and those weren’t success. We had people that we could have
seen and had a lesson but I wanted to go where the Lord wanted us to
go regardless if we had a lesson. So we go I. The car and we said a
prayer. Afterwards I had the impression that we needed to go around
the corner behind us and OYM. I told Sister Wilson and we headed that
way. As soon as we turned the corner I saw a family sitting on their
porch. Their was a mom and three kids. We stopped and talked with
them. We got to know them, I did the jump rope for her kids and then
we started talking about the restoration. In the middle of our
conversation it started to pour rain! I mean it was coming down!!
Jamie, the mother we were talking to, invited us inside to get out of
the rain. So we went inside. The kids absolutely loved us. They were
showing us all their toys and yearbooks. As we talked with Jamie I was
trying to think of ways to invite her to learn more, but nothing was
coming to my mind. I don’t know why I couldn’t think of anything maybe
she wasn’t quite ready for it yet, but when the rain let up we asked
if we could come back. She said we could. We need to go back and see
her and her kids this week and see where the Lord wants us to take it.
Maybe it was just an opportunity for me to exercise my faith and learn
to listen to the Spirit. Well after that it was 5 to 9 and we still
hadn’t had a lesson. We decided to call Chris and Christine and have a
lesson with them over the phone. They were actually ok with it. We had
a lesson and everything with them. One door closed and another
opportunity opened. The Lord allowed us to have a lesson even though
we weren’t able to be successful with Jamie.

Our week was really crazy busy with lessons which is awesome!! We had
our highest amount of lessons this week. Woohoo!!

Paulo is doing ok. He has been struggling lately with a desire to know
if it is true. He comes up with a lot of surface concerns and we
haven’t been able to uncover the whole iceberg. There is something
that is down deeper that he isn’t ready to let surface. I know that
the Spirit will continue to work with Hamas long as his heart remains
open. It kills me to see him fight it. I have come really close to him
and Victoria and I want them to be happy together. He gets so close
and then we take a couple of steps back. I am not going to give up on
him though. He came to church on Sunday and it was a really great day,
we got a new Bishop and Bishopric. It was a really powerful sacrament
meeting as all those men bore their testimonies. We just need to keep
him coming to church, reading, and praying. He’ll come to know the
truth.

If you haven’t noticed or haven’t scrolled to them bottom yet, our
mission received iPads on Thursday. We had a mission wide conference
in Cranberry which is near Pittsburgh. We left earlier Thursday
morning. I drove us and 2 Elders to cranberry. The drive is about 4
hours. We had a 4 hour training, got our iPads and then headed back to
Carlisle. It was a long day of sitting, but we got iPads. It was a
really cool moment for me. I learned what the true purpose of
technology is. It is to spread the gospel. It isn’t for all of the
things I used to do like watching shows, Pinterest, Instagram, or
Facebook. Those things are great and all of us to keep in contact with
each other, but the true purpose is so that we can spread the gospel
farther and do it faster than ever before. Isn’t that a cool thought.
I thought so! We aren’t Facebook missionaries yet and I don’t think we
will be by the time I go home, but within the next 2ish months we will
be.

Like I said Chris and Christine are doing awesome! Today Chris told a
member that we were breaking, in a good way, him slowly πŸ˜† I knew it!
It made me smile to hear that. They are coming along really well.

We have a new investigator named Theresa. She is so sweet and funny.
She has different colored hair every time we see her and she loves us.
She met with elders about 8 years ago in Chambersburg. She was ready
to be baptized but then she had to leave before she could be. We now
have just gotten in contact with her again. She wants to be baptized
again! There are some things that we need to work out before, but she
has a desire. Our goal is to get her to church this week. She
remembers a lot of the things the elders taught her despite that fact
she has trouble remembering some of her past.

I am excited for this next week! We will find out this Saturday if one
of us is leaving. I don’t know what is going to happen but I trust it
will be where the Lord wants me 😁

I love yinz guys!!! πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
Have a great week!
Love,
Sister Jones

Sent from my iPad

Blair!! He is an investigator. He loves to tell stories. Anytime we say something it always reminds him of a story!

Blair!! He is an investigator. He loves to tell stories. Anytime we say something it always reminds him of a story!

Our mission wide conference

Our mission wide conference

Leave a Reply

