Week 61- I’m Staying And Getting Another Greenie…..

Another new transfer has begun! We got the call Saturday night that Sister Amendola is being transferred, so that means that I am going to be staying here in Carlisle! I am sad to see Sister Amendola go because these past two transfers have been a blast. I am really excited that I get to stay in Carlisle though, it is such a fantastic city and ward. I love it here! With the news I received on Sunday I think I might be finishing my mission here.
Yesterday while at dinner with a member family we received a call from President. He asked for me so I took the phone and started talking to him. He asked how things were going and how Carlisle was. Then he asked, “Now Sister Jones, why would I be calling you on a Sunday evening?” I knew what he was talking about and I was about to answer when my face accidentally hung up the phone. I called him right back and he said, “Sister Jones! Did you just hang up on me because you knew what I was going to say and didn’t want to hear it?” (He said it jokingly of course!) I laughed and told him no I did it accidentally. He went on to tell me that I was being called to train again! So I am leaving to Pittsburgh tonight to go meet my greenie companion and then on Tuesday night we will have to drive back out here to Carlisle. I am excited but nervous at the same time. There is a lot of weight when it comes to training. I have to make I help this sister start off on the right foot for the rest of her mission.
This past week in Carlisle was great! Things are still going well here in Carlisle.
We saw Paulo and Victoria again this week! It was a really great lesson with them. We had lunch as usual and then we went into the lesson. He told us that he hadn’t read until that morning, but he didn’t want to disappoint us so he read and when he started he couldn’t really stop. (As my dad would say,”Here’s your sign!”) I know he was feeling the spirit and that he was really getting into the Book of Mormon. We were planning to teach the Word of Wisdom but the spirit took us down another path. Paulo asked us what is something that we have learned from our missions. We each answered. I told him that I have learned so much, but what came to my mind was that I have learned to trust in the Lord. He knows better than us and He knows what we need to do and where we need to be. I wouldn’t be where I am today or who I am today if it wasn’t for the Lord. My will wouldn’t have led me here, but God’s will did. I am grateful that I listened. We then turned it onto Paulo and asked him what he has learned since he has been meeting with us. He told us that he has been more at peace with himself and life in general. He started out meeting with us because Victoria wanted him to, so he did it just to make her happy. But now he has become more interested. He then voiced concerns about why he even needs to be a part of a church and said that the bible says that all we need to do is accept Christ into our heart and repent. I told him that yes that is very important, those are the first principles of the gospel, but Christ also told us that we must be born of the water and of the spirit otherwise we cannot enter into the kingdom of heaven (John 3: 1-7). I know Paulo is fighting the Spirit. He comes us with questions and concerns to try to avoid the answer he knows he is going to get, but when it comes down to it we can always answer. He still hasn’t prayed about it. We told him that if he wants to know that is what he needs to do. We can tell him everything we know until we are blue in the face, but what it really comes down to is prayer. Asking Heavenly Father if this is true and then listening for his answer. We keep telling him to pray and he hasn’t so we committed him to pray that night on his knees and to not get up until he gets an answer. He said he would. We haven’t seen him since then so we will have to wait and see!
We also had a neat experience with street contacting. We were on our way into a building to see a less-active lady and I saw this elderly lady raking up peanut shells with this tiny little rake. I asked her if we could help her and she said she got it. I stopped to talk with her some more and ask where the peanut shells came from. She told us that she feeds the squirrels and birds every day. She isn’t allowed to, but she in her words, “She is too old to change.” She was trying to put the shells into a trash bag and was having a hard time so I went over and grabbed the bag to help her out. We ended up talking to her for about an hour while she went around and picked up the shells. Her name is Sharon. She told us all about her life and how she is a miracle. She has almost died three times in her life and she knows that God has kept her alive for a reason. Sharon told us that she has tried so many churches and hasn’t really found one she likes, but she does like going to church. She hasn’t been in a while because all the churches here are older and have so many steps, her little old knees can’t take it. I smiled at her and said, “The only step at our church that you would have to take is up the curb.” She laughed and said well that is nice! We ended up giving her a Book of Mormon she was really intrigued by it. She told us that she would read it on Sunday as part of her scripture study since she doesn’t go church. We asked if we could come back and she said that she would love to have us come talk with her. I am really excited to see what happens with Sharon. I was nervous to talk to her about the gospel because sometimes elderly people, like she said, can be set in their ways and not want to change. But after talking to her I know she has been searching her whole life so why not end her search 🙂
Getting to share the gospel everyday is so much fun! Sure we encounter people who are rude to us or don’t want to hear what we have to share, but all of the moments are superseded by all the times I feel the spirit as I testify and know that what I am sharing is true. There is no greater work on this earth!
I love you all and I hope you have a great week!!
Love,
Sister Jones

Our aparments

Our aparments

Sister Amendola and I when we got at least 5 inches of snow that day.

Sister Amendola and I when we got at least 5 inches of snow that day.

Our last Sunday

Our last Sunday

Isabel. The daughter of our investigator Christine. Izzy always says, "The girls are home" whenever we come inside. So cute!

Isabel. The daughter of our investigator Christine. Izzy always says, “The girls are home” whenever we come inside. So cute!

Leave a Reply

