Week 59- I Think I’m Gonna Like It Here…

Forecast for this past week in Carlisle: really cold temperatures and white stuff everywhere. We got the most snow we have had all winter this past week. It is crazy! It is the end of February and now we are getting all the snow! This weekend was very nice though. We got to go to church. Woohoo!! And it was even better because our investigator Paulo came!!! I’ll get to that though.
The weeks of this transfer have been going by so quickly. I can’t believe it is already Monday again. I got my haircut on Monday by a ward member. She did such a great job. My hair really needed it. Since I have long hair you can’t really tell, but I can tell 🙂
Monday night we met with two pastors who are a husband and wife. They are the pastors of a church called Brethern in Christ over here. We found them tracting a couple of weeks ago and decided to come and try them again. They welcomed us in and just ask questions about our church and about missionaries. It is so funny to see how blown away get when we tell them all that we do and give to be out here. I love getting the opportunity to talk with people of different faiths and learning about what they believe. The cool thing is that what they share with me always strengthens my testimony and knowledge that a Restoration really did happen. It intrigues me to know what other churches have come to believe and practice over the years. We ended up teaching them the Restoration. A little scary teaching pastors of a different church, but it went really well. They didn’t set a return appointment but Micah, the husband was interested in learning more and took a copy of the Book of Mormon from us and said that he would read it. I don’t think they are ready to accept the gospel right now, but I know that we played a role in preparing them for the gospel.
We have a new investigator!!! Her name is Amanda. She is a young mom of three kids. Amanda is so ready for the gospel. She has met with missionaries in the past off and on. She doesn’t remember much, but the standards and beliefs she has coincide with ours. She wants to know how to be able to raise her children in a world the way it is. I told her that I know the gospel that we have to share can help her. Being raised in the gospel has helped me set my standards and know what I need to do in order to get back to Heavenly Father. I am not going to let anything or anybody keep me from doing that. Amanda is very receptive and I think she could be ready for BAPTISM!!!
Our Korean investigator, Kun, fed us this week for lunch. It is was good Asian cuisine. She told us that her friends at her church tell her that she shouldn’t talk to us, but she told them that we all believe in the same God and that she likes us. It made me smile to hear her say that. We just have to help her understand why our Church is different and what blessings she can receive from having the fulness of the gospel in her life.
Paulo and Victoria are doing awesome. We taught Paulo the Plan of Salvation this week. He had questions about the pre-existence and why when we think we are doing right do we encounter a lot of trials. Thanks to mi mejor amiga Cassie Corriveau in Mexico who told me to read Job, I was able to share with Paulo the story of Job. Job was a righteous man, but yet the Lord let Satan take everything from him and test him to see if he would prove himself. Although things got rough for Job and there was a time when he wanted to give up and wondered why all this was happening to him. He stayed faithful and in the end he received double what he had before. I told Paulo that this life is tough and hard but if we hold out faithful our reward will be far beyond double what we have here. We all have trials in this life whether we are good or bad, but why not remain faithful and receive blessings along the way and after this life? I know that I need the blessings of the Lord to get through this life and I know that blessings only come when we are obedient. With this lesson we were only able to get up to judgement and we told him we had to go to another appointment. He said, “You can’t do that to me. You can’t just leave me hanging. What are those things? Celestial?…” We have a picture board that we use to explain it and he was looking at the kingdoms of glory. He asked what we were doing later that day and wanted to see if we could come back to finish because he REALLY wanted to know. We came back later and ended up teaching him the rest. It is awesome to see how excited he gets to learn and he is really progressing. He said the closing prayer to our lesson. At first he was hesitant but Victoria encouraged him and told him he could do it. He offered the prayer and it was great. He said that he knew the Lord sent us to him for a reason.
He came to church yesterday, him and Victoria. He sent us a text from Victoria’s phone saying, “Hey sisters!! This is Paulo. Don’t sit next to anybody at church. Thanks!” I know he was nervous, but the ward members did a great job at fellowshipping him. He participated in class and everything. He said he would only stay for two hours, but he ended staying for all three because a member invited him to Priesthood. Members really play a key role with investigators. Paulo felt more comfortable because he was meeting people.
We went to HERSHEY Pennsylvania today! “The Sweetest Place on Earth”. Paulo and Victoria took us. It was so much fun! We got to go to the Chocolate World and see how Hershey Chocolate is made. It was so cool. They have a little ride and everything to take you through a tour of the factory to see how chocolate is made. They also took us to get Vietnamese food. It was such a great day!!
We did a ton of service this wee. We helped Paulo and Victoria paint and our investigator Christine paint. Needless to say I have gotten pretty good at cutting-in. I don’t even need tape to do it. I love painting though. We also did service at Project Share. It was a ton of fun. We went to the distribution center this week. It is basically a bishop storehouse. They have a ton of volunteers. They had someone who was playing the piano and she was playing a song from the Sound of Music so I started singing and she told me to come over and sing. She kept asking what songs I knew and she kept wanting me to sing. It was a lot of fun and really nerve racking at the same time. We got to talk with her about the church for a little bit afterwards.
I can’t tell you how much I love Carlisle! I am having so much fun and I am loving my time here. Things are going so well and I love getting to share the gospel everyday! The Lord sends us a lot of blessings.
I hope you all have the best week ever!! I love you all so much and I am so thankful for all the support you give me.
Love,
Sister Jones

Hershey, PA!

Hershey, PA!

CIMG2178 CIMG2172 CIMG2189

Leave a Reply

