Week 54- Amish, Food, and Missionary Work!

I can’t believe this is the last week of this transfer. These past weeks have flown by! We still have seven more weeks left of training though so Sister Amendola and I will be staying here in Carlisle πŸ™‚

Shout out to Carie and Chris!! Happy Birthday to you! I love you both and Carie I hope you had a great birthday and Chris that you have a wonderful birthday on Wednesay πŸ™‚

Last p-day was super awesome! We had a member take us to Harrisburg to see the Capitol Building and to go to the largest farm show in America. It was so much fun. The Capitol Building is BEAUTIFUL!! We had someone give us a tour of it and it was breathtaking. The artwork and architecture of the building was magnifcient and it is historical. The farm show was a ton of fun. We ate really good food and saw a bunch of different farm animals. We ate fried cheese cubes (which when you hear that you would think that they were little cubes… Nope! They are a huge block of chesse battered and fried. SOOO good!), to die for milk shakes, the best apple cider I have ever tasted (it was made purely from apple juice), a pumpkin funnel cake, and potato donuts. Needless to say I was stuffed by the time we left! There were a ton of Amish and Mennites there. It was a lot of fun. We even had an opportunity to share a Book of Mormon with someone who was working at the farmshow. I prayed that morning that we would have an opportunity and the Lord blessed us with one. He was working at this western wear booth and we we were looking around. He looked at my badge and asked what Latter-day Saints meant. I explained that these are the last days and we are Saints. We went on to explain that we were missionaries and what we do. He was floored by it and explained that he believes in Christ but doesn’t go to church. We had a copy of the Book of Mormon with us so we gave it to him. He was very interested in it and grateful we gave it to him. He doesn’t live in Carlisle, but he happens to live in a town right outside of Butler. How about that? I told him I just came from living in Butler I knew exactly where their store was in Butler. I know that if we pray for opportunities to share the gospel the Lord will bless us with them.

We had interviews with President Johnson this week which was really nice. I always love talking with President because he is so encouraging and is so loving and kind in the way he speaks to us. He just encouraged me to stay strong for these last six months that I have. He told me that I need to serve everyday with all my heart, might, mind, and strength. It was great for me to hear that because that is what I want to do. I want to keep giving my all everyday so that I can come home and say that “I fought a good fight. I have finished the course.”

Last night we had a neat opportunity to hear from John Bytheway. A member of our ward knows him and set up a fireside over facetime for our ward to see. John Bytheway is super funny by the way! Ha It was a really great night and he focused on D&C 4:2 which says:

“Therefore, O ye that embark in the service of God, see that yeserve him with all your heart, might, mind and strength, that yemay stand blameless before God at the last day.”

He defined embark as leaving on a journey either by boat, plane, train, or other means of transportation. He also said that when you embark on a journey you are either all in or you are out. There can’t be halfway embarking. Brother Bytheway reworded D&C 4:2 to say:

“Therefore, O ye that halfway embark in the service of God, see that ye serve him with half of your heart, half of your might, half of your mind and half of your strength, that ye may stand halfway blameless before God at the last day.”

No one wants to be halfway blameless before God at the last day so we need to emark in the service of God and give all that we have. We can’t sit on the fence and wait nor can we give when we feel like it or when it is convient but we must do all that we can all the time. If we do this I know that we will be able to stand blameless before God at the last day.

We had another great lesson with Anna this week. We met at her house and Sophie came along with us. We taught the Plan of Salvation and it went really well. Anna told us that it was comforting to hear and that it made the most sense out of anything that she has ever heard. I felt prompted to ask her to be baptized. She said that she wasn’t ready to committ to anything yet. I asked her if she had prayed about the Book of Mormon and she said that she hadn’t. She expressed that she hasn’t prayed sense she left her church and she felt weird about coming back to it. She said that she doesn’t know if she’ll figure it out now, but she will do it when she has time in the future to give her full focus to it. I told her that it didn’t matter whether or not she got baptized but I that I knew that it was better for her to find God now than to wait. I told her that having God in her life would make her life better and she would be so much happier. We committed her to pray this week and find out if God is there. Anna is still has her reservations about the church and she just wants to explore right now and regardless if she gets baptized I want her to know that God is there.

We had another neat experience with sharing the gospel. We were getting our oil changed and we were talking to the store manager and he was asking us questions about missionary work. When we were leaving I asked if we could share a card with him by the time we got done talking we ended up giving him a Book of Mormon. We can literally share the gospel with everyone we meet regardless if we are a missionary or not. There are people all around us who need the gospel. They may be our best friends or they may be the person we met in the check-out line in the grocery store. God places people in our path who need the gospel and we must share it!!

It has been another great week here in Carlisle. We have found some new investigators and have a few more potentials to work with.

Our Sister Johnson, our President’s wife has a mission blog that she updates. You all should check it out. http://ppmmemories.blogspot.com/

I hope you all have the best week ever!!!

Love,
Sister Jones

Sister Amendola and I

Sister Amendola and I

The Capitol Building in Harrisburg

The Capitol Building in Harrisburg

Us and the Elders at the Farm Show

Us and the Elders at the Farm Show

farm show

farm show

farm show

farm show

Leave a Reply

