Week 53- So Many Wonderful Things are Happening Here in Carlisle!!

Hey everybody!
I hop everyone had a great week! This week was so good here in Carlisle. We saw so much success and I am so excited to see what this week holds. We picked up two new investigators 🙂
We went on exchanges this week with our Sister Training Leaders. It was a little different being on the other end of things again. It was so much fun though. It is nice to not have to worry about other sisters and how they are working together in their areas. This exchange was pretty awesome. I got to stay here in Carlisle with Sister Jones!! So it was a Jones squared day! Everytime we introduced ourselves as Sister Jones and Sister Jones people would get the weirdest look on their face like they were confused. We would have to explain to them that we weren’t really sisters, but that we just happened to have the same last name. It was fun because Sister Jones actually came out when I did and we sat next to each other on the plane rides out here. While on exchanges we tried to visit a bunch of less-actives and formers. We didn’t have much success, but we perservered nonetheless.
We met with a less-active named Brian. He wants to come back to church and receive the Priesthood. He told us that he has “demons” that he needs to fight before he can get it. He wouldn’t tell us what his demons were, but I felt like I knew what they were. I am sure it was the Spirit that told me. I told him that we know he may have things he is struggling with and if they happened to be something like coffee and smoking we could help him with it. Apparently I said coffee and tea three times as I went on talking and when I finished he said, “Well since you said it three times I will tell you what my demons are… Coffee and smoking.”I thought that was pretty cool. I didn’t really know what his struggles were but the thoughts just came to my mind.
Can I just tell you all how awesome the Carlisle ward is? I seriously love it here. The ward members are so great. I love going to their homes and having dinner with them. I always feel so loved and they cook some good food! But seriously they are just fantastic people and I love them all already 🙂 I am starting to get to know the members really well and making friendships with them. We went over to a member’s house the other night and the wife told us that she was so impressed that we helped clean up after the farewell we had for a family that is moving to San Antonio, TX. She expressed to us that the sisters before would just sit around and wouldn’t help at all. She was shocked when she saw us help clean up without being asked to. I am not saying this to toot my own horn, but that people are watching us even when they think they aren’t. I didn’t know anyone was paying attention to the fact that we were helping. This member has changed her outlook on what kind of missionaries we are and is willing to help us with anything we need.
We had a lesson with our investigator Mark. He and his wife are an older couple. Jean is a member and Mark is not. They LOVE to talk!! We taught Mark the Restoration and it went really well. It was extremely hard to keep them on track, but whatever tangent they went off on I always tied it back to the lesson. Sometimes that can be pretty difficult but it is a fun little game for me that keeps me listening. It was helpful for Mark to see what we really believe and understand more about the background of how our Church was established.
Friday the most awesome thing that could ever happen to a missionary happened. Ok maybe not that extreme, but something awesome really did happen. We were doing our weekly planning session and our phone starts to ring. We look at it and our caller ID says “Sophie”, who is youth member of our ward, we answer it and it is a girl named Anna. She tells us that she is friends with Sophie and that she would love to meet with us to learn more about Mormonism. We said OF COURSE!! We set an appointment with her to meet at Sophie’s house and have a lesson on Saturday.
So saturday came and we had such great lesson with her! Anna started off by telling us that she isn’t very religious and considers herself to be atheist right now. She went to Catholic school when she was younger and right now she is just curious to learn about other religions. She told us that she didn’t know if she was on some spiritual journey to find a church or if it was curiosity. We told her that was fine and that we were willing to talk with her, but our purpose was to help her come closer to Christ and find out if this was true for herself. We taught her the Restoration and it was so powerful. I had fasted that day that our lesson would be powerful and that we would have the Spirit to be with us. Anna asked so many wonderful questions that we were able to answer. When I recited the first vision to her the house was quiet and you could just feel the Spirit all around. I started to cry… And so did she. (It didn’t help that I have been sick this week and super congested so it wasn’t very pretty) But she felt the spirit. At the end of the lesson she said that she wanted to learn more that she really liked talking with us. Anna said that she felt so calm throughout the whole time we were talking with her. I told her that she was feeling the spirit and that it was great that she was paying attention to how she felt because that is how God is going to talk to her. She was excited to meet with us again so we have another appointment to meet with her this Saturday.
We had a lesson with our investigator Lucianna and it went well. We weren’t able to finish the first lesson with her, but we invited her to come to church. She said her and her family would be there… We waited for them on Sunday but they didn’t show up. I was bummed, but I decided that we were just going to work super hard to get her and her family their next week!
So many wonderful things have been happening in Carlisle. The Lord is blessings us for the work that we have been doing these past couple of weeks. I am grateful for the many tender mercies that the Lord shows unto me everyday. Without them I wouldn’t be able to get through the day! I love the Lord and I love being a missionary.
I have been reading the book “Jesus the Christ” and it has been helping me see deeper into the life that Christ lived and what he really did for me. My Savior did so much for me and I will be forever grateeful and forever indebted for what He did. I can change and become a better person and more importantly I can live with my Heavenly Father again. I love this gospel and teaching it everyday. Nothing makes me happier than gettting to share the gospel and feel the spirit while doing it.
I hope you all are doing the basics. C.P.R. Church. Pray. Read. Keep your spirit alive!!
Love yinz and I hope yinz have a great week 🙂
Love,
Sister Jones

Leave a Reply

