Week 45- Its gonna take work…

I feel like I was just at this computer yesterday! This week went by so fast! I can’t believe that I have been in Butler for almost five months. I don’t feel like it has been that long. The weather is slowly starting to get colder and it actually snowed this past week. Thankfully it hasn’t stuck yet, but people have said that this week is going to get colder. We shall see what the future holds!
This week we went on exchanges with the Cranberry Sisters. I stayed in Butler with Sister Hansen. Heavenly Father definitely has a sense of humor! I prayed for things to go smoothly during the exchange and of course everything fell through, BUT we still had a wonderful exchange. We met with some less actives and had dinner with some members. While on exchanges I decided to call the first name in our phone because I had no idea who it was. It turned out that it was someone who met elders about a year ago. He never really got to talk with the Elders because he was moving. I asked if we could meet with and talk about the gospel and he said sure! We are meeting with him this Wednesday so hopefully it goes well!
Our investigator Shana is doing so awesome! She loved church and loves coming to mutual and volleyball. Her sisters are starting to become more interested. They actually came with Shana to church this week and they loved it! Her sister’s names are Shakara and Tiara. We actually picked up Tiara as an investigator and we are working on Shakara. We want to set them all with a baptismal date. It is just funny to see how they are have slowly trickled in to listen to our lessons. We had a really good experience with their mother, Teresa. We asked her to read and pray about the Book of Mormon. She told us that she did it but she didn’t feel like she got an answer. We encouraged her to keep reading and that she needed to keep acting in faith to show Heavenly Father that she truly desired an answer and that she was willing to do something with that answer. She told us that would keep reading and keep praying.
We had a really good lesson with Nick last night. He is coming along and is starting to get more interested in reading the Book of Mormon. We have been reading out of the Book of Mormon with him to help him understand it better and last night he committed himself to read it without us. I know that the Spirit is working on him! Before he said he didn’t have time to read and now he wants to read on his own. He also told us that he prayed so we asked him if he felt anything and he said that he felt a little different after he prayed! This is progress people! He didn’t like praying because it made him uncomfortable and he never felt anything. I don’t know when Nick will know it is true, but I do know that Heavenly Father is working on Nick’s heart and he becoming more and more open everytime 🙂
Things are going really well with Sister Tolman. She is such an awesome missionary. Sister Tolman and I have been working really hard this week. We both have a vision for the Butler area to make it better than when we got here. We have been contacting a lot of new less-actives which is really good. I didn’t do much less-active work in Pittsburgh, but there is a lot of work to be done here. We both have a huge drive to find people to teach because as it says in Preach My Gospel, “nothing happens until you find someone to teach.” We both came from walk areas and they way we found in those areas was to talk to people as we were walking around or riding on the bus. Unfortunately we don’t really have either of those capabilities in Butler. Most of our area is farmland so we have realized that the way we are going to find people is by relying on the members. We have decided that we need to involve the members more in missionary work and then invite them to invite their friends to meet with us. One big thing I have realized in Butler is that missionary work can’t go forth unless the missionaries and the members are working together. I remember being at home and the missionaries would come over for dinner and ask if I knew anyone who could benefit from hearing the gospel. Of course I could think of lots of people, but I never invited my friends to meet with the missionaries. I was scared! What if my friends said no? More importantly, what would I even say? I didn’t understand what the missionaries roles were and I most certainly did not understand what my role was. Being on the other side of the table has given me a new perspective. Missionaries are here soley to help our friends have the same happiness and blessings that we enjoy from the gospel. They desire to help our friends just as much as we do. Our role as a members is to invite our friends to hear the gospel. We can’t make my friends say yes, but they can’t make a choice if we never give them option. If we are worried about knwoing what to say turn to Heavenly Father in prayer and ask Him for the words, write it down, or ask the missionaries to help you know what to say. I have learned that it is so vitally important that we work alongside the missionaries. We know our friends better than the missionaries do and our friends are likely to be more receptive if someone they care about shares what makes them happy. I would challenge you all to prayerfully think about someone that you can invite to hear the gospel from the missionaries and then do it. I can promise you that Heavenly Father will bless you in your efforts. If they say yes, that is fantastic! You can be a guide to help them learn with the missionaries. And if they say no, don’t be discouraged. They have their own agency just like you do. Recognize that you have done your part and that is all that Heavenly Father asks of you. I would love to hear your stories 🙂
I love yinz and I hope yinz guys have a great week!
Love,
Sister Jones

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

