Week 42- Baptism…

Well this week was awesome! Tiny’s baptism was this Saturday and he was confirmed on Sunday. The baptism went so well. We pretty much filled the Relief Society room with people which I was glad to see so many people supporting Tiny. Tiny was excited and ready to take the step. He was all smiles before and had an even bigger smile afterwards. His baptism was a little different because three people were in the water. Someone there to assist in bringing him back out of the water due to Joe not having much arm strength left. When Tiny was being baptized the baptismal prayer had to be repeated a couple of times, but eventually he said it perfectly and Tiny went into the water. It was so awesome to see. It was all so surreal to me. I couldn’t believe that it was actually happening. It all happened so fast! Tiny let the spirit in and then it all went from there. When he was confirmed a member and received the Gift of the Holy Ghost yesterday it was such an incredible experience. The spirit was really strong and his blessing encourage him to stay strong and that he would make a difference in other’s lives by sharing the gospel. When got up from the chair he had tears streaming down his face. I know that Tiny received the Holy Ghost in that moment. I know that it is something that is going to bless his life. Tiny is doing so awesome I am so proud of him. He has come a long way and the gospel has changed him. Tiny is happier, I can see it within him. I am so grateful that I was able to be a part of this experience. Sister Thomas and I also had the opportunity to sing at Tiny’s baptism. We sang “Come, Follow Me” and Tiny started crying when I looked at him. Afterwards he said you did it again.
Earlier this week we had exchanges. I went to Beaver with Sister Romero. It was a ton of fun. She actually served with Sister Stokes after she left me in Swissvale. We were able to talk about the fun times we both had with Sister Stokes. It was also nice because we got along really well with each other. While there I met a member who was from Panama. She made us “real” Mexican food as she said. It tasted pretty good with a little spice, but then she gave us rice and it had duck meat in it. I couldn’t finish it. I’ve had duck and it is not my favorite meat. She was a very nice lady and she was soooo enthusiastic about sharing the gospel. She was a member present for a lesson and she literally got down on her knees during the lesson and acted out Joseph Smith’s vision. It was probably one of the most interesting lessons I’ve been in.
By the time I get home I am going to be a professional painter. I think I’ll start a business haha. We paint so much as missionaries. It is actually a lot fun. We have been helping a less-active paint her new house. Her name is Kim. Kim and her husband both can’t be around paint fumes so it is just Sister Thomas and I painting. They come in every so often to check on us and they feed us lunch too. Apparently we have made an impact on her nonmember husband because he wants to have us over for dinner once they get moved into their house. We’ll see what happens there!
We also did some more painting this week. Saturday morning we had a Stake service activity at Moraine State Park. This place is huge and so beautiful. There is so many lakes and so many trees. We painted the outside of a building that used to be an old restaurant out there. It is a pretty big building. It took a couple of hours. In order to get the top of the walls of building Sister Thomas, a Park Ranger, and I climbed on top of the roof and painted. It was a fun day of service. I really enjoyed being outside and we were right next to a lake and boats were going out. As we were painting from the roof we talked with the Park Ranger and he was telling us that our church is the biggest help when it comes to service in the park. He was very grateful for our help each year. It was awesome to hear that the Church’s name is getting out there in a positive light.
We had another lesson with Shana this week. I asked her how her baptism went at the Baptist church and she said that she wasn’t baptized. The catch is that she was suppose to be baptized yesterday. The Baptist church has a certain amount of times that you have to go to church before you can get baptized (just like we do). I asked Shana and her mom what they thought about her being baptized in our church. Teresa said that she was fine with it. We told Shana to pray about it and let us know. We actually picked up her mother, Teresa, as an investigator. I think this will be really good for them both. Teresa was explaining to us that two of her major concerns are how to know which church is the right one and how to know if someone is a true prophet. She really does not want to make the wrong choice and so the way she went about it was by not making a choice at all. She stopped going to church all together. We told her that it all comes down to prayer. Through prayer you can find out the truth of all things. She didn’t think that God talked to her, but to chosen people. We explained to her that she could receive personal revelation from Heavenly Father. Teresa really wants to know how. We found out that the both of them are visual learners and hands-on learners so Sister Thomas and I are going to have to come up with some fun ways to teach the gospel. If anyone has some ideas of how to teach the lessons in a visual way let me know! I want to help them the best I can.
Things are going so well here in Butler. I seriously love it here! The people are amazing and the work is just increasing. This is the last week of this transfer. I can’t believe four months have already gone by. I could spend forever in Butler. Being a missionary is the greatest and most rewarding thing I have done in my life so far. I am grateful that I listened to the Lord and came out here.
I love you all and I hope you have a Happy Halloween!!!
Love,
Sister Jones

Had some fun with the Charles family while on a walk to have a lesson

Had some fun with the Charles family while on a walk to have a lesson

Joe in the glasses baptized him and President Manley assisted

Joe in the glasses baptized him and President Manley assisted

Where we did service. The restaurant was to the right of this picture.

Where we did service. The restaurant was to the right of this picture.

 Making apple dumplings last Monday

Making apple dumplings last Monday

DSCN2766

Where we did service. The restaurant was to the right of this picture.

Where we did service. The restaurant was to the right of this picture.

Painting on the roof!!

Painting on the roof!!

DSCN1390 DSCN2760

Sweet picture of the leaves and sunset. Elder larsen to my left and Sister Thomas to my right

Sweet picture of the leaves and sunset. Elder larsen to my left and Sister Thomas to my right

Leave a Reply

