Week 41- Another transfer winding down… 2 weeks left!

Yins guys!
Well this week was fantastic! The leaves have changed and have officially starting falling… Fall is here! There is seriously no place like Pennsylvania 🙂 It actually hasn’t gotten to cold here. I hoping it stays off for a while. Apparently this winter is suppose to be worse than the last one. I thought the last one was pretty bad so we’ll have to see how this one goes. People also said that this summer was suppose to be bad but it wasn’t bad at all. I think there were probably 2 weeks of heat. I couldn’t complain though.
We met with Kristin, a less-active that we have been working with, this week. We had a really spiritual lesson with her. We were planning on telling her that we couldn’t meet anymore because she wasn’t doing her part. As usual the Lord had different plans. We talked about what it felt like to go to church and she explained that it felt like coming home. Again she told us that she knows she needs to come to church, but she has to help her mom go to work. We were bold, but loving with Kristin and told her that she shouldn’t let anything keep her from working out her salvation, not even family. We told her that it was important to help as much as she could, but there comes a point when her salvation is being jeopardized. I could tell that this really struck Kristin and she realized that she wasn’t taking care of herself. I know that it is important that we help our family members because we are here to support each other, but we also have to work out our own salvation. I know we shouldn’t let anything get in the way of getting back to our Father in Heaven. We committed Kristin to come to church and she said that she would talk with her mom and try and work out a way to come. Flash forward to Sunday. We are sitting in a pew before church starts and I hear Sister Thomas say, “Kristin!” I looked around and saw Kristin walking in. It was a surprise to me to see her there. I was so excited to see her there that I got up and gave her a hug. She is making changes and it is so awesome to see! She told us that she talked with her mom and her mom ended up pushing back a meeting so that Kristin could come to church. The Lord always provides a way to accomplish that which He has asked of us.
I love going to church each Sunday because I have really gotten to know the ward members and I always feel at home and loved. The ward her in Butler is so awesome and I love the people here. They are so down-to-earth!
We have been teaching a young girl named Shana. Her and her two younger sisters came to mutual. They loved it. We had the opportunity to go to mutual with them. It was so much fun to be back in Young Women, I haven’t been there in forever it seems like. The girls really enjoyed themselves and their older brother wants to come this week. We taught Shana and her mom Teresa this week. It went really well. We decided it was important to teach them the Restoration especially because Shana was planning to be baptized in the Baptist Church. Teresa expressed to us that she doesn’t know how to choose the right church and so she decided to not join any church because she didn’t want to make the wrong choice. As we told the story of Joseph Smith I think it really touched her and helped her see how she could find her answer. We explained how the Book of Mormon is the keystone of our religion and invited her to read it, ponder it, and pray about it.
I went on exchanges this week to Cranberry. That was really fun. I went with Sister Valikoula (she says that it is volley(ball) and (coca)-cola). I love going on exchanges with the sisters and getting to learn from them. I found out that they are teaching someone that we found last time I was on exchanges in Cranberry. It was so cool to hear that. While on exchanges we went to go see a former investigator named Lynn. She was so awesome! Such a sweet lady. At first she was a little stand-offish, but she warmed up as we talked with her and made her laugh. She invited us in and we talked with her. She told us that her husband is suffering from cancer and isn’t doing well. He has been in the hospital for quite some time and they decided to let him come home. Lynn told us that she was so close to getting baptized last time she met with the Elders, but her husband was Catholic and he didn’t want her too. She told us that now might be the time that is right for her. She told us that lately something has been pulling her to read the Book of Mormon (the SPIRIT!!!!!). She asked us question about where her husband would go if he were to pass. I told her that Joseph Smith was worried just like she was about his older brother, Alvin. He was worried about the condition of his brother. We taught her a little from the Plan of Salvation about the spirit world. Lynn looked at us after we finished reading for the scriptures and with tears in her eyes said,” That is a peaceful thought. That makes me feel good inside.” I told her that we are able to work for those who have passed in our temples. She loved that idea too! We left her with a prayer and she told us that we could come back. It was a really neat experience for me. I had just met this lady and I already could feel so much love for her and it helped me see how much the Plan of Salvation does bring happiness and peace into our lives. There are so many people out there who are wondering where their loved ones are that have left this earth. With the knowledge from the Plan of Salvation we know where they are and with the gospel we know that we can be with them forever. I am so grateful for temples and for the work that we are able to perform within their walls. Our Father in Heaven has blessed us with the Priesthood that allows us to make covenants that bless our families and return to Him. I would encourage you all to go to the temple as often as you can. I know that I took for granted having temples be so close to me. Being out here and not being able to go and seeing that members have to drive four hours in order to go to a temple makes me appreciate that I have multiple temples really close to home.
Now onto Tiny! He is doing so awesome! We met with him and Jeanette this Saturday and Tiny had smoked no cigarettes which is awesome, but he was trying to get rid of the e-cigarette too. We talked about eternal marriage and the blessings that come from being worthy to have one. Tin truly desires to get to the temple and so does Jeanette. It is so awesome to see them beginning with the end in mind. Tiny knows that baptism is not the end, but that he must go to the temple and receive of the blessings there. Tiny and Jeanette came to church this Sunday and they really enjoyed it. Tiny just fits right in 🙂 Yesterday we had our last lesson with Tiny before his baptism. His interview was also yesterday. He was so nervous for it. He puts a lot of pressure on himself to get it all perfect. He also thinks he has a hard time expressing his feelings. We talked about the Priesthood and Tiny kept saying that he couldn’t wait to have that so that he could bless his family with it. Halfway through the lesson the Elders showed up to interview Tiny. Tiny got so nervous. He was so overwhelmed that as we started talking he broke down in tears. I could tell that he really wanted this and he didn’t want to mess it up. We finished the lesson and talked about service and being a missionary. I asked Tiny to explain how the gospel has blessed his life. He bore such sincere testimony of the truthfulness of the gospel and how it has brought peace to his soul. He expressed that all he wants to do is return to Heavenly Father. The spirit was so strong after Tiny bore his testimony. I pointed out to him that his tongue was loosed! He chuckled 🙂 He asked me to give the closing prayer and I cried because I was so thankful to be able to be a part of this. It has been such an amazing opportunity to see Tiny grow in the gospel. Tiny went into his interview and he is ready to be baptized! Elder Scott, our district leader, said that Tiny did so awesome and that the spirit is really strong with him. I am so excited for Tiny and I know that Saturday is going to be a really special day for him 🙂 I can’t wait!
This week is going to be pretty busy in helping Tiny get ready for Saturday. We are going to help them make stuff for the baptism.
Before I came to email we went to the Bonetti’s house, who are members, and they showed us how to make dough (that has a hint of pumpkin taste) and we made pizzas with it. It tasted sooooo good! I have the recipe so I’ll have to make it for you when I get home. We also made apple dumplings which are extremely good. I’ll make those too 🙂
Well I love you all and I hope your week is filled with happiness!
Love,
Sister Jones

CIMG1876 CIMG1877

Butler. Pretty leaves and the sun is setting

Butler. Pretty leaves and the sun is setting

Lynn

Lynn

Famous cemetery that was in the moving the Living Dead. It was filmed here in Evans City, PA

Famous cemetery that was in the moving the Living Dead. It was filmed here in Evans City, PA

Gifts that we made for Jeanette and Tiny. Jeanette's was a mason jar filled with inspirational Quotes.

Gifts that we made for Jeanette and Tiny.
Jeanette’s was a mason jar filled with inspirational Quotes.

Tiny's was his old cigar box that we covered with pictures of Jesus and then filled with scriptures, quotes, and hymns.

Tiny’s was his old cigar box that we covered with pictures of Jesus and then filled with scriptures, quotes, and hymns.

Leave a Reply

