Week 39- A lot of good things here in Butler…

So many good things are happening in Butler. I love it! Being a missionary is seriously the greatest! I learn new things every week and my testimony and understanding of the gospel grows every day 🙂
For starters General Conference was fantastic! I loved every minute of it. This time we were able to watch it in member’s homes. We watched the Saturday morning session with Jeanette and Tiny. Tiny absolutely loved it! The rest of the sessions we watched at the Cloud’s home. They are very nice and sooooo helpful to us missionaries. I really enjoyed Elder Bednar’s talk, especially the story about his sons. We have all felt the loving and saving effects of our bigger brother’s atonement and we desire to share that with everyone else. I know that is true for me. The joy that comes from the atonement is what drives me to share the gospel with everyone I meet out here. Let it be your driving force too 🙂 I am so grateful that we have the opportunity every six months to hear from the Prophet and Apostles of the Lord. I know that they have been called to lead and guide Christ’s church. I am so grateful for wisdom and the testimonies that they shared this weekend.
We had a lesson on Tuesday with our investigator named Bob. It was a really powerful lesson for me. We taught him about the Restoration. I love telling the story of the first vision. I can always feel the spirit so strongly confirming to me the truthfulness of it.
We had Mission Leadership Council this week down in Pittsburgh. All the sister training leaders had the opportunity to stay at the mission home again. It was so much fun. The funny thing is that no one stays up late because we are all so dead tired by 10:30 at night! We woke up and went on a hike with President and Sister Johnson and the Zone Leaders. Well it wasn’t really a “hike” per say, but more of a nature walk with a slight incline up a hill here and there haha. Pennsylvania doesn’t have mountains just hills that they think are mountains. This nature walk was super fun and Pennsylvania is beautiful!! The leaves are starting to change 🙂 I’m excited to see when all the leaves change. MLC is so much fun and I really enjoy getting to see how the rest of the zones are doing. We were able to see the first half hour of the movie “Meet the Mormons”. It was soooo good. We are going to watch the full thing this Wednesday. I am excited. I would encourage you all to go see it this Friday when it comes out in theaters if you can.
We had two lessons with Tiny this week on Saturday and Sunday. Tiny is doing so awesome! It is so amazing to see the change that has happened within him. He told us that is so glad that he finally found a place where he can get rid of the burdens of his sins every week. Jeanette explained to us that Tiny doesn’t get as mad or as impatient as he did before. Tiny told us yesterday that he was lost before we started meeting with him. He said that he had tried the Lutheran and Presbyterian Churches and he felt nothing there, especially nothing like he has felt as we have talked with him. He told us that he had questions that he was searching for answers to and we have been answering them for him. He told us that he knows this gospel is true! It is just so amazing to hear those things and to see what the gospel is doing for him in his life. Every time I go there I am just so grateful to have this opportunity to be an instrument in the Lord’s hands. As of last night we decided to move Tiny’s baptismal date to October 25 instead of November 1, so it is one week earlier. Tiny is making leaps and bounds to be prepared for this date. I am so excited for him and Jeanette! They have a strong desire to get to the temple one year after Tiny has been baptized.
We taught our new investigator Shana on Saturday evening after Conference. It was a neat experience that taught me the importance of following the spirit. Shana’s mom asked if it was ok if the family sat in the living room with us. We said that would be wonderful 😉 Shana’s other siblings didn’t want to sit in but her mom did, so that was good! Her mom was talking to us about her beliefs and a thought popped unto my head about sharing the Plan of Salvation. Sister Thomas started the lesson by teaching the Restoration so I followed along. About ten minutes into the lesson Sister Thomas stopped and said that she felt like we needed to switch gears so we started teaching the Plan of Salvation. I learned three things. One being that I should have listened to the spirit the first time and just said we needed to start with the Plan of Salvation. Two, that the spirit will always speak the same thing to both of us and three that the Lord makes sure that he will is accomplished. We needed to teach the Plan of Salvation because that is what Shana needed to hear that night and even though I didn’t follow the prompting I received the Lord prompted Sister Thomas too. I definitely have so much room to improve on listening to the spirit. In these past months of being on my mission I have learned to recognize the spirit more, but I still have ways to go to be perfect at. The spirit has his own language and it is something that we all have to learn. It takes time and practice. I encourage all of you to listen to the spirit and learn the language.
I love the gospel! I love being a missionary! I love Pennsylvania! And I love all of you! I hope you all have a fantastic week 🙂 Like Thomas S. Monson said at the close of Conference yesterday evening. Be a little better, be a little kinder, and change!
Love yinz!
Sister Jones

The "hike"

The “hike”

The "hike"

The “hike”

Sister Thomas and I at MLC

Sister Thomas and I at MLC

Heinz Factory in Pittsburgh

Heinz Factory in Pittsburgh

Leave a Reply

