Week 37- Through the Plan of Salvation…

Hey-o family and friends!
This week has been really great! For starters Sister Thomas and I are staying in Butler for a third transfer! We are super excited 🙂 We have had so much fun these past 13 weeks and we are going for another 6. Heavenly Father still needs the both of us here. We have been doing a lot of work here.
Monday night was super cool for us. We went to go see a potential investigator and his family to invite them to a musical celebration that our ward had this past Sunday. We dropped by unannounced, as missionaries usually do, and they welcomed us right in. As we walked in their little girls are jumping up and down saying, “We are so glad you stopped by!” It was super cute. We sat down and caught up with them since we hadn’t seen them in a month. Eventually John starts asking questions about the plan of salvation. We asked him if we could just teach him the plan of salvation. He was very willing to listen. He told us that he had heard a lot of different versions of the plan of salvation. We prefaced our lesson with the fact that ours was going to be very different than other people’s, but we know it came from God. It was so cool to see that we were able to have an impromptu lesson about the plan of salvation. It was because we had the spirit with us. John is a little intimidating with the super deep questions that he has, but we were able to answer them as we were guided by the spirit. He had some concerns with the plan at first, but then as we explained more you could see his understanding expand. We were right in the fact that it was very different than anything else he had heard, but he liked it. We told him to ponder the things we had shared with him and to pray and ask God if it is true. His wife isn’t on board with things yet, but she listens as we talk. Every time I go there I can see all of them being active members and partaking in the blessings of being an eternal family. I know they will join the church, I am just not certain when. All I know is that it will be in the Lord’s timing.
We were invited by a family to come play volleyball on Tuesday nights at the church. Their sons invite their nonmember friends to come play. So on Tuesday we went and played. It was so much fun! While we were there we were talking to this kid named Bruce. We found out that he has read the entire of Book of Mormon. He said he thought it was really interesting. I guess he talked to Anthony (his member friend) about the Book of Mormon. Anthony asked Bruce if he wanted to learn more and he said he did! We are hoping to set up a time to meet with him. He is suppose to be coming to church this next Sunday. Things have really been looking up in the Butler area 🙂
I went on another exchange this past week. I went out to Cranberry and worked there with Sister Hodson. Cranberry is such nice area. We went to this 95 year old lady’s house, named Emmie. She reminded me so much of Grandma Jones. She was cracking jokes, singing little jingles, and we just a hoot. It made me feel right at home. We went to this member family’s house for dinner Wednesday night. After dinner it came time to share a message with them, but the elders thought the sisters were doing and we thought the elders were doing it. I pulled out my scriptures and the first scripture that came to my mind was 1 Nephi 7: 17. I talked about the power of prayer in our lives when we seem to be in a sticky situation or going through a hard time. The Lord is the best person to turn to in our time of need. After the message the family told us that they are so grateful to have us over and that we were their pick-me-up for the week. I told them that going to member’s homes is our pick-me-up as well. They told us that we bring a light with us and that they always feel better when we come around. It hit me when they said that because I hadn’t been realizing the impact that we really do have in people’s lives. It isn’t really us, but the spirit that is with us. I am grateful for the companionship of the Holy Ghost. His presence really does help uplift people.
We had another awesome lesson with Tiny this Saturday. He is always so excited to learn what we have to share. He always has a smiling face when we come over. We were nervous to talk to him because we found out that there is an order through which permission has to be granted to do someone’s work in the temple. Tiny was last on that list. He took it a lot better than we expected. He was still worried about his sister because he didn’t want he to be lost. I asked him where he though Dot was. He said that she was in limbo and he wanted her to be with their mom and dad. We taught him the Plan of Salvation but starting from the spirit world. We helped him understand where Dot was. We helped him see that Dot would have her chance whether it was in this life or the next. I explained to him that sometimes other people’s choice hurt us or make us sad or angry, but they have their agency. I know that his brother-in-law is hurting him by not letting Dot be baptized. I told him that Dot would have her chance and that our Savior will not forget her. She will have her opportunity to accept baptism and although someone is stopping it now it won’t be eternal. We told Tiny that he had to worry about his own salvation. He has the opportunity now to accept the gospel. Dot didn’t have a chance here, but he does. He said that he know he will be baptized. He actually said, “When I am baptized Sister Thomas will have to come back.” (This is when we thought Sister Thomas might be leaving this transfer) I asked Tiny when he would be baptized. He said again that he waiting for the Lord to answer his questions. He then said, you have already answered some of them since you have been teaching me. My face lit up. I could hold back a smile. I was so grateful that the Lord was using me as an instrument in His hands to help Tiny along his journey in life. Tiny says he has a few more to get answered. He then told Jeanette (his wife) to tell us something. She cried as she told us that Tiny is already working on being ready to get baptized and have the priesthood. I say this every week, but I am literally watching Tiny be prepared by the Lord. It is the coolest experience ever! The Lord has put me in Butler to help Tiny specifically. I am grateful to be a part of this 🙂
We having been working with our Bishop’s wife to put on a Musical Celebration for the whole community. It was last night. It was such a good experience. We had nonmembers, members, and less-actives there. Different members played or sing musical pieces and then we watched this video called the reflection of Christ. It is a video with pictures of Christ’s life and someone singing “Come Thou Fount”. I had never seen it before but for me it was the highlight of the night. I could feel spirit so strong and it made me reflect on how grateful I am to have a Savior. I am so grateful for what Christ has done for me. I am sadden that I have caused him pain by my sins that I have committed, but I am grateful that he was willing to take them on for me. I know that we have a Savior who suffered for us, died for us, and lives for us. I know that it is only through Him that we are able to return to our Father in Heaven.
This is my new favorite mormon message. It is seriously so amazing. We have been sharing it with a lot of people. Watch it 🙂 Share it!
http://www.mormonchannel.org/video/mormon-messages?v=3701964025001

I love you all and I hope you have a fantastic week!
Love,
Sister Jones

CIMG1727 CIMG1730

I finished off a tin of altoids and the wrapper inside has instructions on how to make paper mustaches. So I quietly did it and turned to Sister Thomas. She lost it! We couldn't stop laughing.

I finished off a tin of altoids and the wrapper inside has instructions on how to make paper mustaches. So I quietly did it and turned to Sister Thomas. She lost it! We couldn’t stop laughing.

CIMG1737

 Members got us these awesome jackets. They usually get pink ones, but they don't make that color anymore. So we started the BLUE CREW!

Members got us these awesome jackets. They usually get pink ones, but they don’t make that color anymore. So we started the BLUE CREW!

A member of our ward who is now on his mission in Provo.

A member of our ward who is now on his mission in Provo.

We volunteer at a soup Kitchen and this guy named Bob volutneers there. We thought we looked like him :)

We volunteer at a soup Kitchen and this guy named Bob volutneers there. We thought we looked like him 🙂

4. The Charles Family! We love them <3

4. The Charles Family! We love them ❤

 I ate a frog leg! What? Yepp. It has the texture of chicken, but fishy flavor.

I ate a frog leg! What? Yepp. It has the texture of chicken, but fishy flavor.

3. Our District with mustaches we made. (The idea came for an Altoids can I have)

3. Our District with mustaches we made. (The idea came for an Altoids can I have)

2. Exchanges in Cranberry

2. Exchanges in Cranberry

Leave a Reply

