Week 33- We set a vision for ourselves to increase our faith to find….

First off answers to the riddles last week.
1. What happens once in a minute, twice in a moment, and never in a thousand years? 
          The letter M. It  happens once in a Minute, twice in MoMent, and never in a thousand                    years.
2. You are driving down the road, it’s pitch black, you don’t have your lights on but yet you can see everything. How?
          It’s daytime, but the road is black! 
     This week was awesome! We found three new investigators, had a meeting with a seventy, and I went to Franklin for an exchange. Things are really starting to pick up here in Butler.
      When I first got here we had one investigator and she dropped off the planet shortly after I got here. So for a while we weren’t teaching any investigators, but that has changed as Sister Thomas and I have worked hard to find people to teach. We set a vision for ourselves to increase our faith to find. That has definitely happened and we are beginning to see the fruits of our labors to find. The three people we have started teaching are all referrals. One is named Carrie and she is interested in learning more about what we believe. Her faith in Christ is strong and she does well at teaching her children too. She was a referral from a nonmember who lives down the street from her. When we went to go contact her we found out that she had actually been reading the Book of Mormon. What? Crazy I know! She had received a Book of Mormon from missionaries a long time ago and she decided to read it and we happened to come by at this time. We are excited to continue teaching her and her kids and help them receive the blessings that come from the gospel. 

     We also received a referral from our less-active Kristin. It is her brother’s girlfriend named Valerie. She is super solid. The first lessons that we had with her were so amazing. The spirit was so strong and Valerie could feel it. She told us that she felt good and doesn’t feel like anything we have shared with her is wrong or bad. Valerie is very good at recognizing and understanding the spirit. We had a really neat experience in our second lesson with her. We were teaching the Plan of Salvation and Sister Thomas said that she received a prompting that she needed to bring up baptism. She brought it up and then I felt that I needed to ask her to be baptized… Valerie said yes! She said that before I asked her something told her that she needed to be baptized. I couldn’t help but smile and feel the love that Heavenly Father had for her in making that decision. Valerie went on to say that she had been praying to Heavenly Father to help her because she felt like something was missing in her life and she didn’t know where to find it. She said that we were an answer to her prayers. Valerie is doing so awesome she is reading the Book of Mormon and she came to church yesterday! I am so happy for her 🙂 There are some things that she has to overcome before she gets baptized. She has to get married because she is living with her boyfriend and she has to stop smoking, but we are going to be here every step of the way to help her!
     We also received another media referral from mormon.org and someone requested a bible… or so we thought. He actually requested a Book of Mormon, but he referred to it as the Mormon Bible. His name is Bob and he is a super awesome guy. He is recently retired and he is well versed in the Bible. He said that he has always been curious about the “Mormon Bible” and he now has a lot of time on his hands to read it. We talked with him about the Book of Mormon and how we still read the Holy Bible. He really liked what we were saying. He told us that he goes to a church where they sing the entire service. I have never heard of that before. It would be pretty interesting to go see. We are meeting with him this week and going to share the Restoration with him. 
    In these past almost 8 months I have come to see how important it is to having an understanding and testimony of the Restoration. This is what helps people understand why we claim to be the true church of Christ. We are unique in our belief of a literal restoration of Christ’s church. I am grateful for my knowledge of the Restoration without it I wouldn’t be a missionary and I wouldn’t be an active member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. We have to continually strengthen our testimony of the Restoration. One way of doing that is by reading the Book of Mormon daily and praying and asking Heavenly Father if it is true. This is something we can do more than once, we are actually encouraged to do it multiples times throughout our lifetime. If we do this I know that we will continually receive the same answer that will strengthen our testimony of the restoration of Christ’s true church. The Book of Mormon is the keystone of our religion. By knowing the Book of Mormon is true we know that Jesus Christ is our Savior, we know that Joseph Smith is his prophet and revelator in these latter days, and that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is Christ’s kingdom established on the earth once again. I know that the Book of Mormon is true and my testimony if the Restoration is strengthened each day as I preach it and as I read from the Book of Mormon daily. I want to challenge all of you to read the Book of Mormon daily and if you are already doing that to pray and ask Heavenly Father if it is true. I promise you that if you do this that the Holy Ghost will whisper to you that it is true and your testimony of the Restoration will become strengthened. 
      We also went on an exchange this week to Franklin. It is such a cute town. It was lot of fun. I went will Sister Manwill and we had a really good time. I love going to new areas and meeting new people. When I go into exchanges I have to rely solely on the spirit because I don’t know much about these people that the sisters have been teaching. We had a really awesome lesson with some less-actives and their fifteen year old daughter who hasn’t been baptized. We talked about the importance of prayer and communicating with our Heavenly Father so we can develop a relationship with him. It reminds me of this scripture “For how knoweth a man the master whom he has not served, and who is a stranger unto him, and is far from the thoughts and intents of his heart?” (Mosiah 5:13). In order to have a relationship with anyone we have to talk with them. It is the same with our Heavenly Father if we want to know who he is we need to talk with him daily. Being a missionary you say A TON of prayers throughout the whole day, but this is the closest that I have been to Heavenly Father. 
     We tried to teach Angie with Raphaela this week and it was crazy! As we are trying to have a lesson with Angie her grand kids blast the song Party Rock Anthem and start having a dance party in the living room. It was the funniest thing ever watching them dance, but it was also the hardest lesson I have ever had because the spirit was not there. We tried to settle them down, but it would last for two seconds and then they would be going to the next crazy thing. It definitely tries my patience, but I am learning to be patient with them and explain how important it is that we share these things with their grandma. It is always a mad house when we go there so we are going to wait until Ashari and DaVonte start school this week to go back and have a lesson. I am grateful for the home that I grew up in and that I was able to feel the spirit in it. I am grateful that I was taught to believe in God and my Savior. These kids don’t know anything about Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. It is important to teach our children young so that they can foster that belief now and then strengthen it when they come of age. 
     I love you all and I am so grateful for all of your support. I love my mission and I love my Savior. Have a great week!
Love,
Sister Jones
 
Another riddle:
1. What do you call a cow that just had a calf?
 
CIMG1576(1)
Leave a Reply

