Week 28- Allow the spirit to work within each of you….

Hello yins guys!
These past weeks of this transfer have been flying by. I really don’t know where the time is going! This week was super awesome. I had a couple more firsts this week when it comes to food. I had something called olive-loaf… The name even sounds gross. We were at a less-active’s house and they wanted us to try it, so I did. It is basically bologna with olive pieces in it. Not my favorite. They also cooked us fried green tomatoes. Those weren’t bad, but they were tomatoes that weren’t ripe yet covered in egg and flour, then fried. People eat some weird stuff out here that is for sure. You’ll all have to try it when I get home. Sister Thomas hit her one year mark this week and so we went to Texas Roadhouse. I had never been there before and I really liked it.
We also had interviews with President Johnson this week. That was really nice to get to know him and Sister Johnson a little better. Mom and Dad he wanted me to tell the two of you thanks for allowing me to come out here and serve. He and Sister Johnson are so awesome and they are going to come to Butler and go hiking with us some time soon! At our district meeting this week Elder Alexander made the district Jamaican food again. It was so good. He made something called jerk chicken. It tasted kind of like the seasoning of beef jerky. I enjoyed it 🙂
A funny story this week was that I bribed kids to give me a phone number. Yup, I am that missionary that bribes to get a phone number so that we can teach someone. Well the story is that on Thursday we went to our investigator Angie’s house. We had been waiting for a couple of days to here from her. We don’t have her number because her phone isn’t working right now, but she said she could use her son’s. We show up to her house and she sends her grand kids to tell us that now isn’t a good time. We do this whole sending the kids back and forth to talk to each other and then I finally ask to get her son’s, their dad’s phone number, from Angie. Turns out Angie doesn’t even know her son’s number, but the grand kids do. So I asked if they could give it to me. The little boy who knows it says that he will only give it to me if we let him call his dad so that he can tell him that he broke her DS. We had left our phone in the car so we told him we couldn’t. Being a kid he refused to give us the number then. Which led to the last resort of telling him that I would give him a quarter if he gave it to me. He smiled and started spouting out numbers. Needless to say that I was persistent and made sure we left with a number.
This week we found a new investigator whose name is Rich. We were tracting in a trailer park and he was sitting on his porch with is dog. We talked to him for a while and he talked to us about all the hard things he has gone through in his life. The most recent was his wife passing away. We shared with him scriptures out of the Book of Mormon. While we were talking with him I could just feel the love that Heavenly Father has for him. I just wanted him to know that. It is so sad to see all these people who don’t know how much God loves them and don’t know what the spirit feels like. I am so grateful for the gift of the Holy Ghost and that I have the ability to have him with me at all times. I know that it is through the Holy Ghost that we are able to feel God’s love. That is one divine role of the spirit.
We had an amazing lesson on Saturday with a less-active named Jeanette and her nonmember husband Tiny. Tiny listens to the Book of Mormon every night, MoTab, and conference talks. He is constantly asking us questions that he encounters as he reads. His only problem is the Word of Wisdom, he won’t give up coffee and cigarettes. Well we read a talk by Howard W. Hunter called “He is Risen” with the both of them. Tiny had had a question about a certain scripture in the Bible pertaining to Christ. As we read we stopped and talked about it and bore our testimonies. At the end we talked about the Book of Mormon and how it can help us gain our own testimony of Christ. I bore my testimony to him on how the Book of Mormon has strengthened my faith and how everytime I read it I can feel love oozing out of the words. Yep I really did say oozing. But as I testified to him I could see the spirit working with him. I could see it in his eyes. Tears were started to form. After this Tiny told us that he knows the Book of Mormon is true. He said how could it not be. He went on to say that he just couldn’t give that stuff up (coffee and cigarettes). I asked him if he believed that Christ could help him give them up? He said yes. We told Tiny that we could help understand more about the Church and the Word of Wisdom if he wanted. He agreed. We told him that it is ultimately up to him to decided whether or not he wants to live it. This touched his wife Jeanette because she had never heard this from Tiny before. Jeanette also bore her testimony to us on how she knows the church is true and that she is so grateful for the Priesthood. She said that she wished Tiny had it, but she knows that it is ultimately up to him to decide to join the church. Jeanette told us that she has never born her testimony for anyone either. I know that the spirit was there working in side them which caused them to know the truth. I am so grateful for the spirit and the power that he has. He can cause a mighty change within all of us if we allow him to.
Allow the spirit to work within each of you. Follow the promptings that he gives. They will lead you down a path back to Heavenly Father.
I love you all! Have a great week 🙂
Love,
Sister Jones

we had to get pictures with the barn

we had to get pictures with the barn

we had to get pictures with the barn

we had to get pictures with the barn

we are definitely excited to eat this stuff

we are definitely excited to eat this stuff

Olive-loaf

Olive-loaf

We got Menchies to celebrate Sister Thomas' one year

We got Menchies to celebrate Sister Thomas’ one year

more pics with the barn

more pics with the barn

Leave a Reply

