Week 26- I hope everyone had a wonderful 4th of July…

Hi yins guys! I hope everyone had a wonderful 4th of July. This was the first time I have gone without seeing fireworks, but other than that my 4th was great πŸ™‚ We had a member named Sister Bonetti who came out with us for the day. She drove us around which saves us on miles and we were able to help her have her first experience of going out with the missionaries. It went super well.
When I got here to Butler we only had one investigator and were teaching a few less-actives on and off. Sister Thomas and I decided that we really needed to expand our teaching pool and find new investigators. We went to work this week! Tuesday we went out all day tracting and walking around talking to people. We met a lot of potentials and handed out a couple copies of the Book of Mormon. We went done to another street and started talking to this lady on her porch and we asked her if we could share more with her. We ended up teaching the first lesson to her right there on the porch. Her name is Angie and she is one of our new investigators πŸ™‚ She is Presbyterian, but has stopped going to church. She seems really down because her grand-kids aren’t very nice to her. They don’t show her much love and you can tell that it gets to her. I know that as she develops her relationship with Heavenly Father she will feel that love in her life. As I have met with her I can feel Heavenly Father’s love for her. I know His love is unconditional and everlasting. The things of the world can bring happiness for a time, but those things eventually run out or it no longer makes you happy.
I met our new mission president and wife this week. They are super awesome! They are super funny and I think they are going to be really great for this mission Heavenly Father needs them hear for a reason. There 16 year old son is going to stay in the mission home with them. The Johnson’s have eight kids and they love to be outdoors.
We had a scare with bed bugs earlier this week. Apparently the have been sweeping the mission and quite a few missionaries have been getting them. We had a less-active call us earlier this week and let us know that she has bed bugs at her home. She didn’t know, but had just found out. The day we visited her her grandson had gone home with lots of bites. She had someone come check and she found out she has them. Sister Thomas and I freaked! I checked under my mattress and I didn’t find anything there. Later that night before we went to bed I grabbed my flashlight and checked. Thankfully I didn’t see anything and I have been bitten by anything and neither has Sister Thomas. The Lord blessed us by not letting us get bed bugs. Don’t worry mom we are bed bug free πŸ™‚
Some other firsts happened this week. I planted flowers for the first time (I actually did it twice) and I ate anchovies (probably the saltiest thing I have ever eaten in my life!). I learned how to plant flowers and I am pretty sure I have green thumb now due to how flowers I have planted for people. We had dinner at a member’s house last night and they had anchovies so I decided to try one… if those won’t cause a heart attack I don’t know what will. Besides that they weren’t bad.
Since I have been out here doing a lot of less-active work I have come to see that converts have a deep love for missionaries. No matter who the missionaries are, they show you so much love and they love having you around. They always say that we make their day whenever we come by. I love helping them feel the spirit and feel loved.
We met with a less-active and her nonmember husband the other day and helped them plant flowers. Their names are Jeanette and Tiny. Afterwards we shared a message with them and we talked about the Book of Mormon. Tiny has been listening to the Book of Mormon every night for the last twenty years. He believes in the book, but he against joining the church because he doesn’t like a church telling him what he can and can’t do. He loves drinking coffee/ tea and smoking cigarettes. It is sad to see that someone can become so attached to worldly things that they can’t see the spiritual benefits that will come from letting them go and setting their hearts on kingdom of God. Being out on my mission I have come to see a lot of the ways Satan tries to deceive people and he succeeds a lot of the time because people lose sight of the eternal perspective. Studying our scriptures, praying daily, and going to church each Sunday are three things that can help us stay out of the bonds of Satan and not be deceived. I am grateful for the power that comes from having the spirit and allows me to stay on the right path.
We had dinner last night at a member’s home whose husband is also is not a member. Their names are Nick and Jan. I love going to their house! Nick is hard to read at times especially on whether or not he is interested in the gospel. He listens to the spiritual thoughts we give and Jan has said that she has seen him reading the Book of Mormon multiple times. We asked her if Nick would be interested in taking the lessons, she told us she thought he would. Last night after dinner Jan turned to Sister Thomas and told her to ask Nick her question. So she did. Nick was hesitant at first and didn’t really know what to say. But Sister Thomas bore a powerful testimony to him and told him how much we love him and want to help him. Nick agreed to take the lessons! He said he couldn’t promise anything from it, but he really does want to learn. We are super excited that we are going to be able to share the gospel with him. Jan says that he is really looking, but he doesn’t know where to find it. That is exactly what we are hear for. There are so many people out there who are looking, but they don’t know where to look.
By the end of the week we found two new investigators and we are going to try find some more this week! We have been working hard to improve the area of Butler.
We are meeting with Nick this Tuesday, I will be going to my first missionary leadership council on wednesday,and I will be going on my first exchange as an STL this Friday. I am super excited for this upcoming week. I love you all and I hope you have a great week πŸ™‚
Love, Sister Jones

CIMG1422 CIMG1421 CIMG1419 CIMG1424

Leave a Reply

