Week 25- I am now a Sister Training Leader in Butler, PA…

How yinz guys doin’?
This week has been really good! I am now a Sister Training Leader in Butler, PA. It is so awesome out here! There is so much land and everything is green. I realized something the other day. There are absolutely no sprinklers in PA, they don’t exist! It rains enough here that no one has to water their lawn and plants grow by themselves, which might be the reason why everyone has gardens out here. Everyone here owns a ton of land and they are all related somehow… it’s weird. It’s different than Pittsburgh but I love it. The ward is awesome! They were so welcoming and they love to feed us out here 🙂 I am now in a car, which I am super grateful for because it has been extremely hot and humid most of the days.
My companion Sister Thomas is amazing! We get along so well and we have a lot of fun. She’s from Payson, Utah and she played softball. We are a good companionship. We work really hard and we push each other to go out of our comfort zones.
When I got to Butler I had no time to unpack we just went straight out to work. Our apartment is infested with spiders and not tiny spiders either, but huge spiders. I have killed so many since I have been here. No houses really have air conditioning here which I do not understand with all this heat. But our house and others that we visit are always extremely hot so you sweat a lot. It still rains a ton here in Butler, but I know have a car that I can drive in and not have to walk everywhere 🙂
We have been doing a lot of less-active work. This is a lot different than Swissvale because we had only three less-actives in our area. In Butler we have a ton which is sad because you never want someone to become less-active. Teaching less-actives is different than investigators because they already know the doctrine they just need help strengthening their testimonies.
We did lots of service this week for less-actives and members of our ward. That was a ton of fun. We also did service at a soup kitchen called Katie’s Kitchen. We help prepare the food and serve it. While looking out at all the people there my heart went out to them. My heart was also filled with gratitude for all the things that I have in my life. There are a lot of things that I have taken for granted. Being on my mission has opened my eyes to the woes of the world and how good I really have it. Mom and Dad am I so grateful for all the things that you have allowed me to have in my life. I am grateful for all the hard work that you both have put in to us kids. I love yins!
We were teaching a less-active yesterday named Brenda. She has gone through lot in her life. She was telling us how she has been divorced and she doesn’t know if she is going to be sealed to someone so how is she going to reach the Celestial Kingdom. I told her about my reading of the book “Daughters of my Kingdom” and how it says that Heavenly Father will give everyone the opportunity to make those sacred covenants that will allow them to enter into the highest degree of the Celestial Kingdom whether it is in this life or the next. I could feel the spirit testify to me that this is true and that Heavenly Father wants all his children to return to Him and He is going to give them every opportunity to do so. I am so grateful for a loving Heavenly Father.
While doing my online time this week I came across some really good quotes. One is by President Eyring. It says “When you give your heart to inviting people to come unto Christ, your heart will be changed. You will be doing His work for Him. You will find that He keeps His promise to be one with you in your service. You will come to know Him. And in time you will come to be like Him and be perfected in Him.” I have really come to see this as I have been out here inviting people to come unto Christ. I know it will be the same with all of you. I know that sharing the gospel is the best thing that we could be doing with our time. The other one was by President Monson. He said, “Everyday courage has few witnesses. But yours is no less noble because no drum beats for you and no crowds shout your name.” being courageous isn’t easy, but Heavenlt Father recognizes our courage when we go out and share the gospel or when we stand up for what we believe in. We as disciples of Christ and as members of His true church need to stand up now more than ever and defend what we know to be true. The Lord will bless us for not wavering. I know that to be true.
I love you all and I hope you have a fantastic week. Be strong and of good courage!
Love,
Sister Jones

The Carnegie Mellon Institute Building that was in the movie Batman

The Carnegie Mellon Institute Building that was in the movie Batman

The Carnegie Mellon Institute Building that was in the movie Batman

The Carnegie Mellon Institute Building that was in the movie Batman

The Carnegie Mellon Institute Building that was in the movie Batman

The Carnegie Mellon Institute Building that was in the movie Batman

The Carnegie Mellon Institute Building that was in the movie Batman

The Carnegie Mellon Institute Building that was in the movie Batman

Pictures at the Cathedral of Learning in Pittsburgh.

Pictures at the Cathedral of Learning in Pittsburgh.

 Pictures at the Cathedral of Learning in Pittsburgh.


Pictures at the Cathedral of Learning in Pittsburgh.

 Pictures at the Cathedral of Learning in Pittsburgh.


Pictures at the Cathedral of Learning in Pittsburgh.

Bishop's family of my last area.

Bishop’s family of my last area.

Sister Zaugg and i

Sister Zaugg and i

Sister Thomas and I

Sister Thomas and I

Sister Thomas and I

Sister Thomas and I

Leave a Reply

