Week 24- Called to be a Sister Training Leader of a Zone…

Hello yinzers!
So I got the call Saturday night and I am being transferred. I got a call Sunday afternoon from my mission President calling me to be a Sister Training Leader of a zone. So wherever my next area is my companion and I will be doing weekly exchanges and training at zone training/conferences. I am super nervous, but excited at the same time. It is going to be a lot of fun. I have no idea where I am going or who my new companion will be. When President Topham called me to be a Sister Training Leader he said” You said you wanted to grow on your mission didn’t you?” I answered yes. He said ” This will be a huge growing experience.” Since I am going to be an STL I will now be in a drive area which is nice due to how hot it is going to get, but not so nice when it comes to exercise.
I am sad to be leaving Swissvale and the Pitt 7th Ward, but I am excited to see somewhere new in PA and work in a new area. I said goodbye to ward members yesterday at church. A recent convert that we have been teaching named Winnie told me that I would spread sunshine wherever I went. I hope that I can connect with the new ward like I did with the ward members here.
I will find out tomorrow afternoon at transfer meeting where I am going and who my new companion will be.
We met with our investigator Sisi on Saturday and she told us that she really wants to get baptized. She told us that she is going to talk with her mom and that she really hopes she says yes. Sisi said that she wishes her mom understood why she wants to do this. It makes me smile knowing that Sisi desires to be bapitized. We have been praying that her mom will soften her heart and allow her to. She told me that I couldn’t leave. I am so grateful that I have had the privilege to help her learn the truthfulness of the gospel. I hope to hear soon of her baptism!
A potential investigator took us to lunch this last week. We went to a Thai restaurant and I decided that this was my one chance to try something new, so I did just that. I ate DUCK! I ate a duck noodle soup. It was actually pretty good. I don’t know why people say it tastes like chicken because it tastes nothing like it.
So I have been using a broken umbrella. On of the spokes that keeps it open broke, but I taped it and it worked fine. But one day during a huge down pour we hopped on a bus to go to a dinner appointment. While on the bus I put down my umbrella… we get to our stop, so we hopped off. When we got off the bus I realized that I had left my umbrella on the bus! Luckily it hasn’t rained since then 🙂
On Saturday we helped at an all-day Family History Conference that was taking place at our church. The cool thing about it was that it was for the whole Pittsburgh community. Members and nonmembers were there and were able to go to workshops to learn how to search for their family. It was really awesome to see how excited people get about family history work. The spirit of Elijah I tell ya!
An awesome thing about PA is that there are fire-flies here. They are so awesome! When we are walking home at night you can see little green lights all over. It is such an amazing sight especially when there is a lot of them.
One of my favorite things to do each day is read the Book of Mormon. I could read it all day. I have never had huge desire to read the scriptures, but since I have come out here and have gained a stronger testimony of the Restoration I come to see how important the Book of Mormon is. It is what makes our church different. It is how we can come to know this church is true. It is meant to help us receive revelation. It is a divinely inspired book. I am so grateful for the Book of Mormon and for the strength that it gives me every day. I know that it can give each and everyone of you the guidance and strength that you need. Just like we eat and drink food to survive temporally, we need to feast upon the words of Christ to survive spiritually. Verses that I have recently come across that I love are Alma 37: 44-45. The verses previous are talking about the Liahona and how it gave Lehi and his family guidance while in the wilderness. The Liahona as we know worked according to their faith and heed that they gave to it. When they had faith and followed the directions that it gave the progressed towards the promised land. When they did the opposite they were lost in the wilderness and walked in circles. Verses 44-45 talk about how the words of Christ can guide just like the Liahona and if we follow their course we will end up in the promised land.
“44 For behold, it is as easy to give heed to the word of Christ, which will point to you a straight course to eternal bliss, as it was for our fathers to give heed to this compass, which would point unto them a straight course to the promised land.
45 And now I say, is there not a type in this thing? For just as surely as this director did bring our fathers, by following its course, to the promised land, shall the words of Christ, if we follow their course, carry us beyond this vale of sorrow into a far better land of promise.”
I know this to be true. I know that if we follow the revelation and direction that we receive as we read the scriptures we will reach a better land of promise. Whether that be a few years into the future or the celestial kingdom, we will be able to reach the goals that we have set for ourselves. I know the Book of Mormon is true. I encourage you all to feast upon the words of Christ daily.
I love you all! 🙂
Love,
Sister Jones

CIMG1320 CIMG1316 CIMG1315 CIMG1380 CIMG1376 CIMG1381 CIMG1382 CIMG1366 CIMG1369 CIMG1370 CIMG1343 CIMG1336 CIMG1340

Leave a Reply

