Week 23-I blinked, boom, I’m here again!…

This week flew by! I feel like I was just sitting in the Carnegie Library emailing and I blinked, boom, I’m here again! That is what this week felt like. It was a great week all around.
We had zone conference on Tuesday which was a lot of fun. It was our last time with our current Mission President. I had the idea to have all of us sisters give him a group hug, so I got everyone together and we cornered our mission president and gave him a big hug. President Topham thought it was funny.
We met with our investigators Tammy and Barbara and we set them with a baptismal date! We are super excited and we are going to do all that we can to make sure that they are ready for it. Barbara told me that Sister Stokes and I are her favorite missionaries yet. It touched my heart and made me feel so good knowing that an investigator cares for me just as much as I care from them. I have really come to love each and everyone of the people that we are teaching out here. It breaks my heart when they choose to go down another path, but my heart leaps with joy when they make changes in their lives that bring them closer to Christ. These changes come because they are living the gospel. In my Preach My Gospel it says that only the gospel can keep the world from it own self-destruction. I know that to be true. I know that the only way for this world to be saved is if everyone is living the true gospel. That is why sharing the gospel is so important. People can’t be saved without first having performed ordinances by the Priesthood.
I was reading a talk by President Eyring called “A Priceless Heritage of Hope”. It talks about the inheritance of hope that we can leave behind for the generations that come after us. President Eyring talked about how important it is that we make covenants while we are here on earth and how “each covenant brings with it duties and promises. For all of us those duties are sometimes simple but difficult. But remember, the duties must sometimes be difficult because their purpose is to move us along the path to live forever with Heavenly Father and His Beloved Son, Jesus Christ, in families.” I love this. The hard things we face in life are meant to help us draw nearer to Heavenly Father and progress. My duty as a missionary has definitely helped me draw nearer to my Heavenly Father and has helped me not only become a better person but become a better disciple of Jesus Christ. I know I still have a long way to go, but by small and simple things are great things brought to pass.
Another quote that I really liked from President Eyring’s talk was about how we shouldn’t worry about things if Christ is at the head. “They know that He is at the head. He is all-powerful and He cares. If you let Him be the leader of your family, things will work out.” As a missionary I can’t sweat the small stuff. I know that if I put my trust in the Lord and follow the promptings of the spirit things will work out in the end. He is aware of everything and even if people fall away for a time, things will work out in the end.
On Saturday Sister Zaugg and were in squirrel hill and we tried this ice cream place called Rita’s. It was soooo good. We got something called gelati, which is layers of flavored ice and custard. It is a huge thing out here and everybody loves it. I agree 🙂 Afterwards we went with some Elders to do service at one of their investigator’s house. We helped pull weeds and then for payment she cooked us amazing pulled pork sandwiches, smoked corn, cole slaw, homemade guacamole and chips!
We having still been meeting with our investigator Sisi. She is doing really good. Still no baptismal date set. It is so sad to see all the things that she has to worry about as a ten year old. I don’t even remember thinking about these things at her age. Satan is working so hard on the kids in this world. I am so grateful that I have always had the gospel in my life. Mom and Dad I am so grateful that you both taught me the principles of the gospel and helped me live them 🙂
Today Sister Zaugg and I went to the Strip District in Downtown Pittsburgh. It is pretty much a china town with a ton of Pittsburgh paraphernalia. It was a lot of fun. Downtown Pittsburgh is amazing. I am grateful that I have had the chance to serve in Pittsburgh. People weren’t kidding when they told me it was one of the most beautiful cities.
I love you all and I hope you each have a fantastic week 🙂
XOXO
Sister Jones

CIMG1285 CIMG1298 CIMG1299 CIMG1303

Leave a Reply

