Week 20- I have come to realize that missionary work…is also about preparing people to accept the gospel

Hello yins!!
This is email is later than usual due to the libraries being closed on Monday and I wasn’t in swissvale yesterday. This past week was sooooo good!!! Lots of awesome things happened. We went to a ward picnic on Monday which was so much fun (and it wasn’t even for our ward). We played lots of games like baseball (I missed it so much!), Ultimate Frisbee, and football. We had a BBQ which was great and we got to play with a lot of the kids.
For starters we picked up a new investigator on last week. She is ten years old and her name is Sisi. We tracted into her grandma who lives down the street about a month ago and we got Sisi as a referral from her. We planned to go see Sisi for weeks, but for some reason it never worked out for us to get down there. Finally two saturdays ago we found time to go see her. The mom told us it wasn’t a good time and that we should come back later because Sisi has a lot of questions for us, so we did on Sunday. There was no one home when we went so we left a note. We decided to try again on Monday night and voila they were home. Sisi answered the door and she had a huge smile on her face, we could tell that she was super excited to see us. She asked her mom if she could meet outside with us. We ended up having a lesson with her that night. She loved it! She wasn’t sure if God existed or if he heard her prayers. We taught her how to pray and committed her to pray that night. We saw her the next day and she told us that she felt so much happier after she said her prayer and she knew that Heavenly Father was there. It seriously melted my heart hearing her say those words. She is only ten and I am so glad that she knows Heavenly Father loves her. We saw two more times that week. She loves what we are teaching her and she says she knows it is true. Sisi came to church with us this past Sunday and absolutely loved it. It was her first time EVER going to church! We picked her up from her house and then rode the bus with her to church. After church she came up to me and asked me how someone becomes a member. It was the cutest thing ever I could tell that she really loved church. I explained to her how and she just smiled. We have her committed for a baptismal date on June 14th! When walking back to the bus she told us that she wanted everyday to be Sunday. Her love for church made me appreciate going to church so much more. For a ten year old girl she understands so much and is so mature. We meet with her quite often during the week and she always greets us with smiles. Her parents are totally ok with this and have told us that this is Sisi’s thing and they will support in her any decision that she makes. After one lesson her mom came out and told us that she was really grateful that we came and knocked on their door. She told us that the day before we came Sisi had been asking her a lot of questions and she didn’t know how to answer them and she was afraid Sisi was going to go down the wrong path. She told us that she knows it wasn’t a coincidence that we came when we did and I know it wasn’t either. All the other times we planned to go weren’t the right times. I know that Heavenly Father is aware of all of us and knows what we need and when we need it most.
We also went back to a man that we tracted into a few weeks ago and he had asked us how we knew Christ’s church ended with the Apostolic reign. We went back and had a nice discussion with him and bore testimony to him of what we knew to be true. We got on a discussion about the first vision and the scripture of James 1:5. By the end of our discussion he told us that he appreciated us coming back to answer his question. We didn’t get a return appointment with him because he wasn’t interested, but he did commit himself to praying more to find out if where he is standing in life is where God wants him to be. He told us that he hadn’t been praying much and that the biggest that came from us meeting with him is that he will be praying more and asking God if he is in the right place. Although he didn’t become a new investigator I know that we were preparing him to accept the gospel. I have come to realize that missionary work isn’t only about baptizing people it.
We also had exchanges yesterday and I went out to Penn Hills. It was such a good day. We went to go see a less-active in their area that had stopped going to church because she went back to being Catholic. We went inside to talk to her and she had a man that was staying there with her. When talking to them you could tell that the spirit wasn’t there. This man that was with her kept spouting off Biblical references and stories and preaching all kinds of false doctrine, especially about how God is not loving. All I could think of doing was to bear my testimony, so I did exactly that. I bore powerful witness that I know we have a loving Heavenly Father. That he loves each of us and that He trusted each of us enough to let us come to this earth and make our own choices and return back to him. I looked at the less-active lady and told her that God trusted her enough to be the mother to two of his spirit children. She looked back at me and got all teary-eyed. I could feel the spirit so strong, like it was going to burst out of me. Per usual, I was crying as well, but they were subtle and soft tears. I just wanted them to know how much Heavenly Father loved them and cared about them. The man and woman were silent when I finished. The sister I was with bore her testimony after me. When she finished the man paused and then started spouting off more stuff and you could feel the spirit leave once again, so we said a prayer and left. I am so grateful for the power that the spirit brings. My words would have just been words if I wasn’t speaking with the spirit. I am so grateful for the privilege of having the Holy Ghost as a constant companion and to bring power to my words. It is the greatest feeling when the spirit is present and He is making it known. I know that when we speak with the spirit and bear testimony nobody can confound us. Heavenly Father has promised each of us.
I absolutely love putting on my badge every morning and bearing Christ name on chest. I am grateful to be one of His servants here in Pittsburgh. Time is flying by all too quickly, but I am grateful that he trusts me enough to teach some of His children the gospel. I know Heavenly Father loves each and every one of His children.
I love you all and I hope you have an incredible week!!
Love,
Sister Jones

Our name tags

Our name tags

Sister Zaugg and I waiting for a bus

Sister Zaugg and I waiting for a bus

CIMG1184

look how green it is here! I tell ya, there is nowhere more green.

look how green it is here! I tell ya, there is nowhere more green.

On our way to Holland!!!

On our way to Holland!!!

A nasty/ cool slug we saw one day. It was about as long as a tictac box

A nasty/ cool slug we saw one day. It was about as long as a tictac box

CIMG1148

 

Leave a Reply

