Week 19- Transfer Three Done…

So this last transfer just ended and now we are headed into a five week transfer instead of six. We will be getting a new mission president after this next transfer. No more President Topham, it will soon be President Johnson.
Exciting news for the week to come! We are having a mission wide conference where we are getting to hear Elder Holland speak this Thursday!! I’m pretty stoked about that! It scares must just a little due to the fact that Elder Holland is so intense and I have no idea what he is going to say to us missionaries. I know it is going to be an amazing meeting and the spirit is definitely going to be super strong with some 280 missionaries and Elder Holland being in one building.
A lady in our ward is in charge of a missionary blog for our stake. They did a piece on sister missionaries here in Pittsburgh. She interviewed Sister Stokes and I for and posted it yesterday. The website is pittsburghmormons.blogspot.com
Check it out and let me know what you think 🙂 Let others know about it too!
This past week we picked up a new investigator named Fran. She is a baker and owns a bakery. We had our first lesson with her at her bakery. It smelled so good when we walked into the door. She was bakery fresh pastries, cookies, scones, etc. She give us some that had come right out of the oven. It was heaven! Fran is a very nice lady. She has a lot of medical problems that she is going through. She was diagnosed with diabetes some 20 years ago and she now is on insulin for it. Fran recently underwent a heart surgery to unclog some of her valves. She is such a trooper and she told us that it only because of Heavenly Father that she has been able to get through any of these medical trials. Talking with others about overcoming their trials has really strengthened my testimony of the power of the atonement. The atonement can be applied to every aspect of our lives in particular, trials. If we put our faith in the Savior and ask for strength I know the atonement will take affect in our lives and we will be able to overcome any obstacle. I know that the Savior is always there for us and is carrying us in those times when we need him most. It reminds me of the poem called footprints. It is about a man who has a dream that he is talking with the Lord while walking along the beach. Scenes from his life flash across the sky and he notices two sets of footprints, one his and the other the Lord’s. When the last scene of his life flashed before him he looks back at all the other footprints. He notices that many times along the path there are only one set of footprints and they were during the most challenging and saddening times of his life. He asked the Lord why this was and the Lord replied “My son, my precious child, I love you and I would never leave you. During your times of trial and suffering, when you see only one set of footprints, it was then that I carried you.” I love that story because it is so true. The Lord lifts us up and carries us in those moments that we think we can’t go any farther or we can’t keep going. I know that when we put our trust in the Lord He never fails us. I am so grateful for our Savior, Jesus Christ, and the strength that His atonement gives me while I am out here serving. Without Him I would not be able to get through each day. I know that His atonement can help you all too. Turn to the Lord and He will not forsake you.
It was a pretty tough day yesterday. I was in this funk and I knew I needed to get out of it. We hadn’t done our personal due to us having church at 9am. We went home had lunch and then went out to do some work. The person we went to see wasn’t home and I just wasn’t feeling it. All I wanted to do was read the scriptures. We went back so that we could do personal study. I said a prayer and asked Heavenly Father to please help me get out of this funk. I read the Book of Mormon for the whole hour. It was exactly what I needed and it helped me get out of the funk I was in. After the hour I felt so much better and ready to go out and do work. We decided to go out and go tracting. The first ten houses we knocked no answered or would even let us talk. I said a prayer in my heart that I would just keep knocking because I was putting my faith in the Lord that this is where we should be. Two houses later we knocked into a lady and we started talking with her. I bore testimony to her and started crying at her door. I could feel the spirit testifying to me that what I was sharing was true. That I was doing what the Lord had asked of me. We started walking to go to a ward activity at a park down the street. On our way there we saw a man gardening. We waved hi and he stopped us and asked if we knew how to pick weeds. We smiled and said yes and that we would love to help him. He said he was joking and that he wouldn’t make us do that. I kept talking with him and asking him questions. He asked who we were and we told him sister missionaries. We kept talking with him and found out that he has a really good friend who is a bishop in Utah who had given him a Book of Mormon. We found out that he is a funeral director and he asked us if we did service. We said of course! He said one of the funeral homes he works with does a lot of service. We offered to help when ever he needed. He was such a nice man and we had such an uplifting conversation with him. Talking with him and the lady before were such tender mercies from the Lord letting me know that I was doing His work. After that may day turned around and it was so much better. The ward activity was awesome and I love all the ward members. I know the Lord was looking out for me and that He was helping me through my struggle.
I hope you all have a fantastic week and that you rely on the Lord. He will help you through anything. I know that to be true. I love you all 🙂
Love,
Sister Jones

Leave a Reply

