Week 17- Heavenly Father loves and wants to bless us as much as possible…

Hello yins!!
Another great week here in Pittsburgh!! It rained a ton this week. Pretty much every single day and then it drizzled off by the end of the week. Some days it would come out of nowhere and when it would stop it would be super hot. Makes it interesting for deciding what to wear each day. Pittsburgh is so green right now and spring has only just begun!
We had exchanges on Friday-Saturday. I stayed in Swissvale and Sister Zaugg went out to Penn Hills with one of our Sister Training Leaders. It is a twenty-four hour switch of companions to see how everything is going. It was a lot of fun. During the exchange we went to go teach our investigator G. We were teaching him about the Word of Wisdom and then all of a sudden he said “My stomach doesn’t feel good.” He went to the bathroom and started puking! He left the bathroom door open so we could hear everything… it was gnarly. I had no idea what to do so we just sat there. When he was done we told him we would reschedule and come back another day. I’m just glad he didn’t throw up in front us!
After that we went to go see our investigator named Markus. It was such a powerful lesson. I could feel the spirit so strongly. He was so caught on the definition of certain things and about the Priesthood. He kept trying to find differences between the Book of Mormon and the Bible. We asked him to pray to know if the Book of Mormon was true because if that was true everything else fell into place. He said he wouldn’t because he knows the Bible is true and there are too many discrepancies between the Book of Mormon and the Bible. I just sat there listening to him. I started to have the whole burning of the bosom experience and I could tell the spirit was there. It was telling me I needed to say something. I waited until he finished and then I bore testimony to him that I know the Book of Mormon is true and I know it by the power of the Holy Ghost. I could feel the spirit so strong. After I bore testimony my body was shaking a little. I bore testimony to him that God was the source of all truth and he could come to find out if this was true for himself. During that lesson the spirit reaffirmed to me that this is God’s true church. Markus’ heart wasn’t open to finding the truth. We need to allow our hearts to be open so that we can continually find receive truth from our Heavenly Father. There is more truth to be revealed and we cannot believe we have it all.
Our investigator T who I met when I first got out here is set with another baptismal date for June 14th. She wasn’t able to be baptized on May 3rd because she wasn’t able to make it to church before then. She is trying to get work off so that she can come. I love talking to her and I know that she has changed so much since have been meeting with her. She is turning her whole life around and I know it is because she is coming unto Christ. It is amazing to see what faith in our Savior Jesus Christ can do in our lives. If we really truly have faith in Him we will do all that we can to serve Him and become like him. He is such a great example to each and everyone of us. If we all strive to be like Him the world will be such a greater place to live in.
In the middle of last week Sister Zaugg and I were walking to the store and I had this prompting that we needed to tract the area that we were next to. I told Sister Zaugg and we decided that we would come back the next day and do it. We came back and we started knocking doors and we finished all of one side of the street and absolutely no one answered the door. I said to myself/ Heavenly Father, “Either I’m going crazy and that thought was nothing, I’m showing my faith by following through, or there is someone we are suppose to meet while out here.” We saw life in one of the houses on the other side of the street so we immediately went and knocked that door. This man named Bill answered and we found out that he had taken the lessons ten years ago from Elders in Scotland. Sorry to break it to you, but he wasn’t Scottish, he was American. We talked to him more and we found out why he stopped, he had a question about the apostasy. We told him that we would come back and talk to him more about it. He said that he would really like to hear what we had to say about it. Who knows if this who Heavenly Father wanted us to find, but I know that if we follow the promptings the spirit gives our Heavenly Father will bless us for it.
I encourage you all to continue to read the Book of Mormon every day, pray to Heavenly Father daily, and keep the commandments so many blessings come from doing these things. Heavenly Father loves and wants to bless us as much as possible.
Have a great week!! Love you lots!
Love,
Sister Jones

District picture

District picture

One thought on “Week 17- Heavenly Father loves and wants to bless us as much as possible…

  1. Hello dear Sister Jones!
    It was wonderful to read your missionary stories. You sound energetic, faith filled and happy. Sharing the gospel is invigorating, isn’t it?
    I am sitting at my father’s bedside. He is in a care facility, on hospice. He is the sweetest man. I love him so. There is one care provider that we especially appreciate. She is tender and doting with my dad. I call her an angel. Angel Maria. Today I brought a a Book of Mormon. I so hope she gets off her lunch break in time for me to present it to her as a gift of gratitude for all she has done for Dad.
    We has shared with me the grief she has experienced in the death of her parents. Her mother died the day of her dad’s funeral! Imagine that! I so hope she will read it. I marked a few favorite pages. Also, I’ve said prayers th at she will be provoked to read. Hoping.
    Thank you for your service in the kingdom. Because of young ladies and men such as you the kingdom is rolling forward. Not only are you sharing the truth to those in darkness but you are becoming a tool that God will use forever…wherever you go…whatever you do…you are a Saint.
    Sending you love and prayers.
    Kris Horton

Leave a Reply

