Week 15-God knows how to get through to his children….

Hello!!
This week was awesome especially with Easter being yesterday. On Saturday our ward had an Easter Activity at the park and that was a lot of fun. We as missionaries got to be the “Easter bunnies” and hide the eggs for the kids to find. While at the park one of our members have the little scooper things where you can throw and catch the ball back and forth. They let us missionaries play with them. Well we ended up breaking both of the scoopers… neither of them on purpose. The first one broke while trying to pick the ball up from the ground, but it was still usable. I was using the semi-broken scooper and an elder was using the other one. I threw the ball and he went to catch it. As soon as the ball hit the scooper it shattered into pieces. It was THE funniest thing ever. I didn’t even throw the ball that hard, but I guess I don’t know my own strength. Luckily someone had brought duct tape so I played doctor and pieced the thing back together.
That night a member had us over and they did an egg hunt for us missionaries. It brought back memories from home when we would have our egg hunts πŸ™‚ I got to eat ham twice this weekend which was a luxury! Ham is definitely my favorite.
It has been warming up here in Pittsburgh. There are now flowers on the trees. The buses now have the A/C on instead of the heat, which I am very thankful for otherwise the buses would be miserable
We have been teaching our investigator M still and he is doing good. Still set for May10th. We had a lesson with him last week and we did something called a Book of Mormon read. We picked a chapter, Moroni 10, and then out loud read two verses and then stopped to discuss anything that stuck out. We did this in the MTC and it helped me understand how to receive revelation and what revelation is. This is how they explained it: when you read and something sticks out and you think it is cool or interesting it would be termed as insight. When you take that a step further and say why does God want me to know this or how can I apply this to myself, that is when you receive revelation. We explained this to M and he thought it was interesting. He had never thought of revelation as a two-way communication. He always thought of it as all of sudden out of no where God gives you revelation, which is possible, but not always the case. We did this with him and we got to verse 4 which talks about how we can receive answers to our prayers. It talks about having a sincere heart, with real intent, and having faith in Christ. He looked at us and said “I can’t help but think what am I doing wrong… why haven’t I received an answer.” It broke my heart. But I was doing personal study later that week and I was reading the story in Matthew about Christ’s life right before he was crucified. I realized that people continually asked Jesus to say or prove he was the Christ and the son of God. Even right before he was crucified Caiaphas, the judge, asks him to tell him if He is the Christ, the Son of God. It hit me that Jesus had told them so many times already, but they never listened. They asked, but never listened for the answer. I think M is the same way. He has asked and asked and asked, but I don’t know if he is really listening. Then I turned it to myself and I know that I don’t always listen to what the Lord has to say when I ask a question. When I was praying and asking God whether or not I should go on a mission, I know I didn’t listen to the answer God had, I did what I wanted and pushed it aside and said I wasn’t going. I have learned that God knows better and that He also knows how to get through to his children. I have faith in our Heavenly Father that He will help M recognize his answer. We as missionaries are here to help him as well. I know that Heavenly Father answers prayers we just need to be willing to listen.
We had a cool experience the other day. We have this recent convert named Winnie. She is seriously so funny. We brought out to come and teach a lesson with us, the only thing is is that she has a lot of back pain that makes it hard for her to walk long or climb up stairs. But being the trooper that she is she climbed up these huge steps to our investigator, G’s, house. When we got to the top I could tell that she was in a lot of pain. I asked her if she would like me to say a prayer. She said yes. I said a prayer and asked God to give her strength and bless her for coming out here to help us. We got inside and started the lesson, she was still in pain. Not even halfway through the lesson Winnie looks over and you could tell that she felt so much better, that the pain had been lifted. We could all feel the spirit so strongly. We walked out of the house and Winnie told us that she wasn’t in pain anymore. That Heavenly Father had blessed her for coming out to serve Him. I know that to be true. I know that our Heavenly Father blesses us for doing his work.
Being on a mission has brought me so many blessings. I know that as I continue to serve faithfully the Lord will bless me πŸ™‚ The same goes for all of you.
Love,
Sister Jones

Sister Stokes and I on our final day together

Sister Stokes and I on our final day together

Artwork at a bus station

Artwork at a bus station

Met an awesome lady who owned chickens in a city... reminds me of home :)

Met an awesome lady who owned chickens in a city… reminds me of home πŸ™‚

Shoes hanging on a telephone wire. I thought that only happened in movies

Shoes hanging on a telephone wire. I thought that only happened in movies

Pittsburgh!!!

Pittsburgh!!!

An overlook of Pittsburgh

An overlook of Pittsburgh

Leave a Reply

