Week 11! Spring Cleaning….

Lots of funny and awesome things happened this week.
Number one. On Wednesday night Sister Stokes and I are in the bathroom brushing our teeth and then all of sudden the lights go out! The flicker back on for two seconds and then go back out. We both are freaking out, as girls would, and we shut the door. My thoughts went immediately to someone breaking in. Thankfully that was not the case and the lights turned back on. The story doesn’t end here… I go to grab something off of the shelves and I see a spider! I freak out again. I grab the bottle it is on and I accidentally dropped the bottle due to my freaking out. Encase you were not aware, I don’t like spiders… at all. Back to the story, the bottle drops the spider goes flying. I have no idea where it is. Mean while Sister Stokes never saw the spider is she thinks I am lying. I told her I had to find it or I couldn’t go to sleep. I searched everywhere and about five minutes later I found it and killed it.

Number two. Saturday we watched the movie Ephraim’s Rescue, which is so good by the way so if you have a chance watch it, and there is a part when one of the pioneer boys is talking about not showering for four weeks. This crazy lady in one of the wards was in front of us and she turns around and says “What is so bad about four weeks? I haven’t showered in four weeks. That is what happens when you don’t have running water.” This lady seriously cracks me up every single time I talk to her. She makes nicknames for all of us missionaries. She calls me Sister Jones, Sister Bones. Don’t ask me why.

Number three. This morning. Sister Stokes and decided to do some spring cleaning and rearranging of our room. Once we got everything put into place we decided to knock down all the spider webs in our house. There are a lot more than you would think. Well again I hate spiders and yet I was the one knocking them down. Our ceiling is really high and we have one of those webster things. I am standing on a chair knocking them down while freaking out in the process. I have learned that I can never kill spiders for a living.

Number four. We took a little longer cleaning our apartment than we planned and we still needed to run to the store before we came and emailed. We decided to go to CVS instead of the Giant Eagle Grocery Store. While printing out pictures to put on my wall this lady walks over and asks me if I would be able to help her print our her pictures. I said sure! She looked at my badge and started to read it. I told her we were missionaries from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. She asked if we were baptist and I said no Christian. SHe went onto say that she had never heard of our church before (this still blows my mind that most of the people here have never heard of our church). We went on talking and she told me about her mom passing from cancer and that she wanted to get closer to God because she has been pretty distant since her passing. I bore testimony to her about God’s plan and that I knew she would be able to see her mother again. I told her that I knew this because the Book of Mormon restores this to us. We gave her a Book of Mormon and she is very interested in learning more. We are meeting with her on Wednesday! She told us that she almost went to Walmart to print out her pictures, but she decided to come to CVS and she knows exactly why she needed to come; she needed to meet us. God really does prepare people for us to teach. We were in the right place at the right time and we were able to meet Char. I LOVE BEING A MISSIONARY!

I taught at district meeting on Thursday and that was pretty fun. I taught about adjusting to the needs of the investigators and teaching for understanding. The cool thing was that the night before, Wednesday, Sister Stokes and I had a really neat experience with adjusting the lesson to meet the needs of your investigators. We had plan to teach our investigator M and the pioneers because he was interested in that and we were going to tie it in with faith and sacrifice. We had plan to read a passage out of the book Our Heritage. Before leaving to the church I asked Sister Stokes if she grabbed the book, she told me she had. While in the lesson we started teaching about something totally different. Sister Stokes looked at me and showed me the book… She had grabbed True to the Faith instead. We followed the spirit and taught M something he really needed. You could feel the spirit so strong during that lesson because each of us were relying on it to share what God wanted him to know.

I have seriously come to love all the people we meet and have been teaching. I enjoy sharing the gospel with all of them. I have really come to rely on the spirit when I talk to people. I have noticed that I’ve stopped thinking about what to say and it comes to me right in the moment. God really is there helping me and guiding me to the right words so that I can help bring his children back into the fold.

This week went by so fast! I had so much fun and enjoyed every minute of it.
I love you all and hope you that you have a fantastic week.
Love,
Sister Jones

love Pittsburgh! (That is what the hand sign means... Well it means I love you, but eh that same!)

love Pittsburgh! (That is what the hand sign means… Well it means I love you, but eh that same!)

Me and Sister Berry on exchanges

Me and Sister Berry on exchanges

California license plate in PA.

California license plate in PA.

cool bridge while walking to find a referral.

cool bridge while walking to find a referral.

Sister Stokes and I walking under the bridge.

Sister Stokes and I walking under the bridge.

bridge

bridge

Water front

Water front

cool tunnel artwork

cool tunnel artwork

cool art work in the tunnels

cool art work in the tunnels

ride back from Green Tree

ride back from Green Tree

ride back from Green Tree

ride back from Green Tree

ride back from Green Tree

ride back from Green Tree

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ride back from Green Tree

Ride back from Green Tree

Ride back from Green Tree

Ride back from Green Tree

Ride back from Green Tree

Ride back from Green Tree

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

PNC Park

PNC Park

PNC Park

PNC Park

PNC Park

PNC Park

Downtown PA

Downtown PA

downtown PA

downtown PA

Downtown PA

Downtown PA

Downtown PA

Downtown PA

Leave a Reply

